|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Beer » Reviews » Sam Adams Imperial Stout

Sam Adams Imperial Stout

8 Ratings: 2.9
One of Sam Adams beers from its Imperial Series
1 review about Sam Adams Imperial Stout

Sam Adams breaks no new ground but a sound interpretation of the Imperial variety just the same

  • Apr 26, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
Sam Adams can no longer be called a micro brewery but has maintained a high standard and occasionally attempts to break the mold of its ordinary and some would say pedestrian line up.   While beers such as Millennium do in fact push a stylistic envelope, they often fail to satisfy in the most integral way a good beer should.  Along comes the Imperial Series which boasts an effort towards replicating classic big beers.  The first one I've tried is the Imperial Stout.  This beer pours opaque black with a dense tan head.  A firm roasty malt nose emanates from the glass and while the head fades (typical of a beer of this strength: 8%) it lingers in a diminished state till you drink your last drop.  The body is full and is  a sipper to be respected, not quaffed.  A huge malty palate greats you with ample roast bitterness and a fair hop presence drying out what could be an overly sweet beer.  It is well balanced to say the least and while not a beer to bowl you over, it is well constructed and very much true to form.   Now, a true to form dry stout that is nothing special might be something to pass over but an Imperial Stout that manages to fill the mold shouldn't be.  A good beer of a great variety is one to seek out every time.   Unfortunately,  the brewery has tagged a four pack at $10 which is perhaps too bold a move in this weak economy.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
14
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
April 01, 2010
Great review. My mouth was watering while i was reading that. Well done.
 
August 08, 2009
Now that is a good review and a good beer. I am a fan of the many micro-breweries around. My sons gave me the "beer of the month club" and it is a treat to sample beers at home when I don't have to worry about driving home. We have several small breweries in Cleveland but the product is good all over. I love the varieties of beer and much prefer beer to wine. thanks for your review>
 
June 24, 2009
This is a great review. Well done my good man.
 
April 29, 2009
I got excited when I read your review title :) I am a huge new fan of Sam Adams thanks to @Rainy_Sunday . I read his review of Sam Adams Light, tried it and loved it. I will for sure check out the Imperial Stout now- thanks for the review..although not sure if at $10 for four I can afford to like it that much ;).
June 27, 2009
Sorry so late with this but first time out to lunch since I joined. Hope you got hold of an Imperial Stout from Sam Adams and enjoyed it, Tori.
 
April 27, 2009
I'm still a long way from knowing about beers. Oh, I do drink them now, haha... while you are just writing about them! Who knows, if I read enough of these reviews, one day I might just be writing about them! Esp. those Japanese beers. It's interesting to see the difference in taste between the Asians & the westerners when it comes to beers, although I've heard some actually learned to like the chinese beers when they live in China. Beats me why. Anyway, keep them coming!
April 27, 2009
Well, Asian beers have mostly be copies of Europeans ones, and pilsners in general. I hear there are some good ones in Japan now, brewing all different styles. I did have a beer with dinner, just not drinking beer at this very minute. ;)
April 27, 2009
Ahhh, got it! So, u are still drinking them! Well, good for the brewers. Otherwise I just might think they will be going bust too! ;-)
April 27, 2009
Yeah, I don't drink as much as I used to but I still enjoy beer, and food, and well you get the idea. ;>
 
1
What's your opinion on Sam Adams Imperial Stout?
rate
8 Ratings: +2.9
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
SamAdams Imperial
Details
Related Topics
Guinness

Popular dry stout that originated in Arthur Guinness' brewer

Young's Luxury Double Chocolate Stout

English beer brewed by Young's brewery

Fade to Black Volume 1

A foreign export stout from Left Hand Brewing Company.

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists