|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive

A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive

164 Ratings: 2.6
A book by Dave Pelzer.

Dave Pelzer shares his unforgettable story of the many abuses he suffered at the hands of his alcoholic mother and the averted eyes of his neglectful father. Someone with no one to turn to, his dreams barely kept him alive. Through each of his struggles, … see full wiki

Author: Dave Pelzer
26 reviews about A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage...
review by . June 26, 2010
Spoilers within!   I think A Child Called It is a cautionary tale. A young boy living in suburbia with a mother who is social and appears loving to her children is not necessarily the first picture that comes to mind when we think of an abused child. Learning about the tell tale signs by reading this book is helpful to teachers, neighbors, and social workers who wonder about the care the children in their area are receiving. I think if a child is coming to school in tatters all the time …
Quick Tip by . August 06, 2010
You will most likely need a tissue box, and I don't recomend reading it all in one setting, its a very hard read if you have trouble coping with raw emotion
review by . August 03, 2010
This is such a great book, very heartbreaking and moving. If you are sensitive I wouldnt suggest it though!
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
I couldn't put this book down. It will make you angry, sad, cry and at the end feel drained. But still must read book.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
This is painful to read, but it is also a thing that many are very ignorant to. I am glad I read it and definitely recommend reading it.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
this is a great book about the courage it took one young boy to survive. its a story not commonly told in conversation.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
Very sad book, makes you grateful for the family you grew up in. The love and opportunities you were given. Wouldn't recommend it for anyone under 13.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
This is a pretty quick read, and good but I think it could have been combined with the second book for a better flow.
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2010
Very sad story... but I loved his courage and I think it is a good thing for people to learn that child abuse is a real issue and it can be prevented/stopped.
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2010
So sad to know that a mother could do this to her child! I hate hearing stories like this but it is real! No child should have to endure this!
Quick Tip by . July 07, 2010
horrible, sad story. i sympathize with the little boy and hope that nobody else should ever have to go through this. but i know it wont happen.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
it was worth every second... I would suggest to read it after a bit older to appreciate the plot
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Great book!
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
i read this for a school assignment and wound up reading the whole seires it was such a sad story that you can't even believe its a true story.
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
WOW!!!!!
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
this is a somer book - but it has a good story and good morals as well - very thought provoking to say the least
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
Get ready to cry
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
This is a very heartbreaking story. To have lived through something so tragic is almost unthinkable. Dave (the child) has really become something amazing.
review by . June 26, 2010
DELETE THESE QUESTIONS IF/AFTER YOU RESPOND!!        I was very sad when reading this book to learn that a mother could treat a child so poorly.        yes, any one who enjoys reading books about abuse and the like would enjoy reading this book.     The setting takes place in different venues since the character is put in different foster homes.     The character has a difficult time transitioning from foster home …
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
This was just all-around depressing. While it really put my life in perspective, it is not something I'd recommend anyone to read.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
sad book how a mother could treat a child. Glad he turned out OK
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Very intense book!
review by . June 23, 2010
I couldn't understand why the mother treated the author so badly, but not her other children. There was never any reason given for this. This made me question the validity of the experiences the author wrote of. It made me feel sad at first, but then I was frustrated, because I wanted more information.      I probably wouldn't recommend this book to anyone. I don't believe it is authentic, unfortunately.      I believe the author intended to to …
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Excellent survival story. Overpriced for teachers which shames the book industry in my mind. If a book is so popular and likeable and gets so many kids to read, why not price it lower to spread the love instead of higher to make an extra buck, just because one can? Sad industry (publishing). But GREAT BOOK!!!
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
Why would anyone want to read this and be depressed?
1 2 Next
What's your opinion on A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage...?
rate
164 Ratings: +2.6
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
book cover
Related Topics
A Child Called

The true story of Dave Pelzer

The Da Vinci Code, Special Illustrated Edition

A book by Dan Brown

Dear John

A book by Nicholas Sparks

The Bell Jar

Book

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists