|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Crime and Punishment (book)

Crime and Punishment (book)

84 Ratings: 3.2
A book by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

A novel by Russian author Fyodor Dostoevsky that was first published in the literary journal The Russian Messenger in twelve monthly installments in 1866.It was later published in a single volume. It is the second … see full wiki

Author: Fyodor Dostoevsky
Genre: Literature
Publisher: Vintage
Date Published: March 2, 1993
11 reviews about Crime and Punishment (book)
Quick Tip by . October 07, 2010
Russian novels have a bad rep for being long and boring. This one is neither (well it can kind of qualify for long but is never boring).
Quick Tip by . July 22, 2010
It's not a bad book, but I have so much trouble getting through any Russian novels.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
i can't believe I finished it!
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
this is another classic that was required. death, murder...absolutely wonderful. I had my times where I felt that I just had to muddle through and then there were times when I was on the edge of my seat. Well done!
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Very favorite book ever!!!! Oh the pain and murder just drives me crazy! I could read it again and again, but it was the very first time where the suspense shot me straight up out of the ceiling.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
Althoug it is a russian classic the plot of this novel is so exciting that it will be topical and thrilling in all times. This book will keep your interest from the beginning till the end (of course, this is my opinion))
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
holy depression, batman! enveloping story but overwhelming at times.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
One of my schools mandatory books. Dostoyevsky really paints a picture, it really brought me in.
review by . June 21, 2009
Crime and Punishment is a very intense book but well worth the effort it takes to read it. It is the story of a bright but mentally tortured student (Rodion Romanovich Raskolnikov) whose views of human nature initially make him believe that he is justified in committing murder. He kills the pawnbroker Alena Ivanovna and her sister Lizaveta, who unexpectedly stumbles upon the scene. Raskolnikov spends a lot of time trying to analyze his motives. First he tells the character Sonia: "It was to rob …
Quick Tip by . May 21, 2010
another high school book but still is good
review by . September 30, 2009
   I liked this slightly better than The Brothers Karamozov which is also one of the best books ever! The book is similar to Poe's, A Tell-Tale Heart in which a man commits a murder that absolutely nobody suspects. What becomes his undoing is only his guilty conscience.
What's your opinion on Crime and Punishment (book)?
rate
84 Ratings: +3.2
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Crime and Punishment
Related Topics
To Kill a Mockingbird

A Pulitzer Prize-winning novel by Harper Lee published in 19

The Grapes of Wrath

Classic novel published in 1939 and written by John Steinbec

The Sun Also Rises

The first major novel by Ernest Hemingway, published in 1926

Polls with this book
1984 (British first edition)

Collection of Classics

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists