|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Jane Eyre > Wiki

Wiki

I go back to [Jane Eyre] so often and it was one of the first books that made me think, 'This is me, in some deep way.' (Suzanne Vega)
edit this info

Details

ISBN-10:  0141441143
ISBN-13:  978-0141441146
Author:  Charlotte Brontë
Genre:  Literature & Fiction
Publisher:  Penguin Classics
What's your opinion on Jane Eyre?
rate
118 Ratings: +3.3
You have exceeded the maximum length.
More Jane Eyre reviews
review by . June 17, 2010
  Spoiler Alert: Plot elements were used      Victorian England, setting of many popular works of fictional literature, was a complex world with many issues, traditions, assumptions, and moral values. Portraying a fictional character that does not live in accord with this rigid setting intrinsically highlights the culture of this society. In Charlotte Bronte’s novel Jane Eyre, the protagonist of the same name is such character – one who sharply contrasts with …
Quick Tip by . July 17, 2010
This book is excellent! The first few chapters are a little dry compared to the rest of the book but it is such a wonderful read!
review by . July 16, 2010
Warning spoilers!!   As the story of a youth transforming both positively and negatively into a woman and matron Jane Eyre and The Wide Sargasso Sea relates to many woman of many ages. However, as a student in a vocational school Jane Eyre and The Wide Sargasso Sea appealed to me with the religious roles and symbolism present. As Jane Eyre of Jane Eyre receives education at the Lowood School. The initial thought was that of comfort for the familiarity of the Christian morality shown with …
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
I did like this book, but not as much as everyone else seemed to. And I know it's supposed to be this big romance, but I didn't really like Mr. Rochester. I thought he was kind of a jerk.
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
Oh man this book is sexy. (in an old fashioned sense)
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
A classic in the genre. Mystery, love, romance - it has it all.
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
very good novel
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
One of my favorite classics.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
not my favorite high school book
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
Although dark, as the Brontes tended to be, still a classic.
Related Topics
Barnes and Noble books

A novel by Jane Austen.

The Great Gatsby

A novel by the American author F. Scott Fitzgerald

1984 (British first edition)

English author George Orwell's novel set in a dystopian futu

The Sun Also Rises

The first major novel by Ernest Hemingway, published in 1926

First to Review

"Plainly the best"
Polls with this book
1984 (British first edition)

Collection of Classics

by

A Clockwork Orange

Coming of Age Novels

by

Agnes Grey (Oxford World's Classics)

Rate These Bronte Novels

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists