|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Comics » Reviews » Justice League: Cry for Justice 1

Justice League: Cry for Justice 1

2 Ratings: 2.5
Issue 1 of 7 of DC Comics' Mini Series "Justice League: Cry for Justice"

   Justice League: Cry for Justice #1 (of 7)   By Andy Frisk   Jul 4, 2009 - 0:30      Publisher(s): DC Comics   Writer(s): James Robinson   Penciller(s): Mauro Cascioli   … see full wiki

Author: James Robinson
Genre: Comic Books, Comics & Graphic Novels
Publisher: DC Comics
Date Published: September 2009
1 review about Justice League: Cry for Justice 1

Puttering Plot but packed with B-List Heroes and Extras

  • Jan 26, 2011
  • by
Rating:
+3
The mini series, Cry for Justice, reflects a wonderful theme of heroics and what the obligation of heroism entails. The comic starts off with a collective meeting of super heroes including Hal Jordan, Superman, Supergirl, the Green Arrow, the Flash, and others. With despair over the friends they have lost in the battle against evil this body starts to fracture about how they should push back and take the fight to their enemies; obviously with Superman taking the side of protecting and "fighting the good fight," so to speak.

The Green Lantern and the Green Arrow splinter off to take the fight to their enemies instead of waiting and responding. James Robinson does an excellent job of painting the camaraderie and friendship between the two Green Heroes, and alludes to a collective past history. Issue 1 of Call for Justice shines in the character relationships and interactions but it falls short in direction and plotting. By the end of the issue there has been little to no development of the master plan of the apparent antagonist Prometheus. The storyline jumps all over the place and follows several heroes and their personal call for justice and gives a little insight into how each character ticks. These scenes include the opening scene with Green Lantern and Green Arrow, Ray Palmer and the Atom, Starman, and Congobill.

While the plotting and direction drags in this opening installment there is definitely a feeling of the larger scope of good versus evil on the horizon. On its own right, the storyline is certainly not the strength of this issue, but the cast of characters and the way they interact with each other is the shining beacon. The illustrations by Mauro Cascioli are beautiful and realistic. For readers that enjoy the realistic touch with the edgy feel this is a good comic to fall into.

In addition, Cry for Justice issue 1 is packed with additional materials including writer James Robinson's commentary on the series, some panel sketches, and an origin story of CongoBill. While the Origin story is extremely short (only two pages) it contains a nice short story of how CongoBill came to be supplemented by some beautiful illustrations of the golden gorilla. Robinson makes it clear that he is interested in spotlighting some less famous heroes in this series so there should be some expectation for future Origin stories in the remaining issues. Interestingly enough, Robinson states that his desire with CongoBill is to bring him more mainstream and get him known simply by Bill; which becomes apparent in Issue 2 when Bill introduces himself. The commentary really adds to the entire experience.

Good reading,

Plants and Books

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
June 09, 2011
I didn't even know about congobill, but he looks pretty cool. Very nice review.
June 10, 2011
Hi Freddie - this is a great serial to follow if you want to find some long lost heroes of another era. I haven't been out to find the rest of the issues but for the "blast from the past" personnel and the bonus features this is a decent collection.
 
January 26, 2011
Great review! I remember Congo Bill back in the Sixties comics as a second tier House of Mystery character. Great to see they're showing more of the DC secondary characters. I heard that the writing is not as good as the art, even though both writer and artist won the Wil Eisner award for this series.
January 26, 2011
Thanks for the comment. In the final pages during the author commentary they show some of the older pictures and covers from Congo BIll back in the day. I think the thing I like the most is just the revitalization and bringing a fresh image to some of the older characters. I also didn't realize the awards that Robinson and Cascioli won. I'll have to look into that. I only have issues 1 and 2 (on loan from a friend) and I don't know if he has the rest of the issues. Issue two has the origin of The Atom. Looking forward to typing up that review.
January 26, 2011
Thanks! I read that info about the awards on Wikipedia, the most trusted source on the internet (sarcasm, natch). Great write-up.
January 27, 2011
I did a little digging and discovered that Robinson and Cascioli were nominated for the Eisner award in 2010 for Cry for Justice but neither won.
January 27, 2011
Thanks for that clarification.
 
1
What's your opinion on Justice League: Cry for Justice 1?
rate
2 Ratings: +2.5
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Justice League: Cry for Justice 1
Related Topics
Batman: Under the Red Hood

A DC Universe Animated Original Movie based on the "A Death

Batman #703

A Batman comic book by DC Comics

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists