|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Love in the Time of Cholera

Love in the Time of Cholera

289 Ratings: 2.6
A book by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Love in the Time of Cholera (Spanish: ''El amor en los tiempos del cólera'', 1985) is a novel by Gabriel Garcia Marquez about a fifty-year love triangle between Fermina Daza, Florentino Ariza, and Doctor Juvenal Urbino set in the late 19th century … see full wiki

Tags: Books, Fiction, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Gabriel Garcia Marquez Books
Author: Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Date Published: 1985
12 reviews about Love in the Time of Cholera
Quick Tip by . July 27, 2010
An exhilarating account of a love that lasts, and of a kind of fidelity that doesn't appear so.
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
Not my favorite Marquez book, but it was alright. It seemed a little slow to me.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
This book is amazing!
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
beautiful
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Marquez is the best writer of our time.
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
Very wordy. The message is very romantic, and the tale is good, however.
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
Loved this. Especially enjoy books about other cultures!
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
pretty good
review by . September 03, 2009
Its a very painful story. Yes i like the details and the writing of Marquez, but this whole story is almost like a fetish for sadness and love that has become more than an obsession. It is a love sick lifestyle of a man who worships what he cannot have.       I wasnt sorry that i read the book, but i somehow wanted more from Marquez.
Quick Tip by . February 26, 2010
Timeless beauty, timeless love I got lost in this book and remained in a state of awe for days after reading it
review by . December 13, 2008
Love in the Time of Cholera may be one of the most captivating books I have ever read.  From start to finish, Gabriel Garcia Marquez uses the most beautiful turns of phrases ever printed on a page.  It tells the story of a complicated-but-subtle love triangle between a woman and two men; her husband, and the man she loved as a teenager.    The premise of the story goes that woman, Fermina Daza, rejects her youthful lover, Florentino Ariza and marries a young doctor, Juvenal Urbino, instead. …
review by . May 19, 2008
This might be my favorite so far of Gabriel Garcia Marquez's novels. It's the language and his unique voice more so than the story itself that makes his work so enjoyable. In this particular case the storyline is a little far-fetched (fifty years of unrequited love?) but that only seems to add to its certain charm. What's a little suspension of reality in a great work of fiction?    
What's your opinion on Love in the Time of Cholera?
rate
289 Ratings: +2.6
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Love in the Time of Cholera
Related Topics
Secret Life of Bees

The debut novel by non-fiction writer Sue Monk Kidd.

The Great Gatsby

A novel by the American author F. Scott Fitzgerald

The Da Vinci Code, Special Illustrated Edition

A book by Dan Brown

Polls with this book
1984 (British first edition)

Books

by

A Fine Balance

Oprahs Book Club 2000-2009

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists