|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Next: A Novel

Next: A Novel

10 Ratings: 3.0
A book by James Hynes

Starred Review. In this funny, surprising, and sobering novel, Hynes (Kings of Infinite Space) follows Kevin Quinn, who has flown to Austin, Tex., for a job interview at the height of a terrorism scare. Kevin, an editor at the University of Michigan, … see full wiki

Tags: Books, Fiction
Author: James Hynes
Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Reagan Arthur Books
4 reviews about Next: A Novel
review by . February 23, 2011
Hynes’s latest follows in the tradition of Mrs. Dalloway and Ulysses in that the novel relates the thoughts and actions of its protagonist through the course of a day. On this day, Kevin takes a trip from Ann Arbor, Michigan to Austin, Texas for a job interview. He begins the novel on the jet that takes him from a midwest of “native decency” to a much more ethnically diverse Texas.      Hynes, unfortunately, does not write with the bravura of a Woolf or Roth. …
review by . May 26, 2010
Kevin Quinn will experience, three times the day this novel takes place, the sensation "as the ground rushes up to meet him." How he responds depends on where in Austin, Texas, circumstances place him. Some he's planned for, most he hasn't. For, he wanders, similar to another part-Irish fictional walker in another city a century before on another day the middle of June, lured by the wonder and hubbub of what he sees.     Michigan-born James Hynes, now living in Austin, conveys-- …
review by . April 14, 2010
I've always enjoyed James Hynes as an author who writes well, can deliver a good zinger with panache, shares my bemused exasperation at the follies of academic life, and - most importantly - spins a good tale. Earlier books of his that I've read had several aspects in common - a definite sympathy for the underdog, the skewering of those in power in a plot involving some element of the fantastic (zombies, magic powers, the occult, ancient druidic ritual).    In "Next", Hynes forgoes …
review by . March 14, 2010
This book stands out as one of the most inventive, engrossing, and entertaining books that I have read in the past year. The novel grabbed my attention on the first page and held me throughout, not as a cliffhanger, but simply as the ruminations of one Kevin , the main character, an American ubermensch, as he wanders around a new city, following unknown women, many of whom excite his desire, reviewing his life, ruminating over his relationships, trying to decide where life will take him next. He …
What's your opinion on Next: A Novel?
rate
10 Ratings: +3.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Next: A Novel
Related Topics
Secret Life of Bees

The debut novel by non-fiction writer Sue Monk Kidd.

Love in the Time of Cholera

A book by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

The Da Vinci Code, Special Illustrated Edition

A book by Dan Brown

The Great Gatsby

A novel by the American author F. Scott Fitzgerald

Polls with this book
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists