|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Wiki

Starred Review. Set in East Texas, Burton's rip-snorting third mystery will appeal to fans of Bill Crider, Ben Rehder, and Kinky Friedman. When the bullet-ridden body of Amanda Twiller turns up in front of her pastor husband's Methodist church, Beauregard "Bo" Handel, the Caddo County sheriff, investigates. While Rev. Bobby Joe Twiller isn't a suspect, Amanda, who was addicted to prescription painkillers, left him three months earlier for Emmet Zorn, the flamboyant co-owner of the Pak-a-Sak liquor store. Emmet's link to a reputed Houston mobster takes Bo and his team, including Carla Wallace, Bo's female deputy and love interest, on a thrill ride of surprises that becomes more intense after the shooting death of doper Doyle Raines, the prime suspect in Amanda's murder. Bo's rowdy "good ole boy" zeal may verge on the outrageous at times, but Burton (The Sweet and the Dead) has a created a cowboy hero that readers will want to see more of. (Dec.)
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
edit this info

Tags

Details

ISBN-10:  0312648006
ISBN-13:  978-0312648008
Author:  Milton T. Burton
Publisher:  Minotaur Books
What's your opinion on Nights of the Red Moon?
rate
1 rating: +5.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
More Nights of the Red Moon reviews
review by . March 03, 2011
Milton T. Burton's third novel sets the stage for a series with a rock solid foundation, interesting characters, and a complex case. Sheriff Bo Handel has been the strong, and at times compassionate, arm of the law in Caddo County, Texas for nearly thirty years. Forty miles away from the Louisiana border and half that north of Nacogdoches, the county is fairly quiet though there have been strange events over the years. With a drought and heat wave gripping the state and painting the Texas moon blood …
Photos
Nights of the Red Moon
Related Topics
Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

Mini-series of young adult novels by Ann Brashares

Twilight

The first book in the "Twilight Saga" by Stephenie Meyer.

book cover

A book by Dave Pelzer.

Love in the Time of Cholera

A book by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists