|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Pandora's Succession

Pandora's Succession

1 rating: 3.0
A book by Russell Brooks

For fans of Barry Eisler, Robert Ludlum, and Clive Cussler. Where would you hide if you learned the CDC and a major pharmaceutical company unleashed a hyperdeadly microbe on the human race?    CIA operative, Ridley Fox, never stopped … see full wiki

Tags: Books, Cafe Libri
Author: Russell Brooks
Genre: Kindle eBooks, Literature & Fiction
1 review about Pandora's Succession

High tech, high excitment

  • Apr 6, 2011
Rating:
+3

Take one high-tech virus, a secret Russian base, spies, ex-spies, mysterious scientists and global corporations, stir and mix, then read Pandora’s Succession by Russell Brooks. Agent Ridley Fox leads the kind of life that doesn’t leave room for relationships. Love ’em and leave ’em and on to the next job. But this job sticks around, and the woman he’s asked to work with is one he’s met before. So how do you deal with love in a time of Pandora?
World domination, world destruction, rejection of the world as it is—they’re all here, together with those truths in our pasts that we try to hide from, half-forgotten hurts that define who we are underneath the veneer of profession and character. Ridley Fox’s foes have found a way to change who we are, turning friend into foe as a world spirals out of control, but truth and self have a way of determining themselves.
Pandora’s Succession has many fast and detailed fight scenes, well-choreographed and convincingly explained—it should make a great movie. There are tidy back-stories like pages read from a file—and after all, secret agents do read, and remember many files. There are interesting characters with complex motivations. And there’s the question of just how we let the past define the present.
Ridley Fox’s job turns out to be just save-the-world and he accomplishes it with aplomb. Not quite James Bond, this young man will be an agent to look out for—high drama, great weapons, clever fights and complex loves… and if I’m not going to let the past define the present, perhaps I shouldn’t be comparing him to Bond or anyone else. Fox, Ridley Fox… waiting for a sequel.
 
Disclosure: I won an e-copy of this book in a launch-party contest.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
What's your opinion on Pandora's Succession?
rate
1 rating: +3.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Pandora's Succession
Related Topics
Book Cover of Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

A 2005 novel by Jonathan Safran Foer

One Hundred Years of Solitude

A book by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

The Secret Garden

book

The Scarlet Letter

by Nathaniel Hawthorne

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists