|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Pride and Prejudice (book)

Pride and Prejudice (book)

357 Ratings: 3.3
A novel by Jane Austen.

   "It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife." Next to the exhortation at the beginning of Moby-Dick, "Call me Ishmael," the first sentence of … see full wiki

Author: Jane Austen
Genre: Classics
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Date Published: December 31, 2002
ISBN: 0141439513 /9780141439518
65 reviews about Pride and Prejudice (book)
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
Slow moving but well written, a classic.
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
A very modern novel despite the fact that the story was written during the 19th century. We can transpose the complexities of the characters and their feelings to our current society and to us. I am a fan of Jane Austen's novels.
Quick Tip by . June 25, 2010
Great book for all ages!
Quick Tip by . June 25, 2010
If you're looking for a mushy summer read that won't overtax your brain, but won't make you feel like you're getting dumber at the same time, you've found it. Pride and Prejudice is definitely one of my favorite works ever. I feel like you either wind up loving Austen or hating her. Her stories follow, mostly, the same formulas over and over, but her characters are each so fleshed out that each new book has you falling in love and rooting for them all over again.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! Recommended reading for any gal...and it probably wouldn't hurt the guys to read it and discover just why so many females swoon over our beloved Mr. Darcy.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Favorite! My mother got me into it. Read it when I was very young. Beautiful love story.
review by . June 24, 2010
   Of course this book is about love. Love that changes people, that makes them better than they used to be. This book gives you great feeling that real love – the one and for the rest of your life – exists. It gives you warm feeling inside you, tuning your soul to love. That’s the magic power of this book.      Although I’m not really found of love stories or love novels I’ve really enjoyed reading this book.   The book “Pride …
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Such a classic! Sets the standard for the romance genre.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
this book is a classic and everyone should read it
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
One of the best love stories for all times! Girls will love it for sure))
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
In my top 5 favorite books. This is a masterpiece! My favorite Jane Austen book! I love the Bennet family; Elizabeth being my favorite! She's so smart and strong and in the end the luckiest girl to ever be written into existence!
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
not a fan of this book
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
I didn't like it much but it's not bad. It's just not the sort of novel I enjoy.
review by . June 20, 2010
Wayne Josephson has taken on a task that many may find offensive - re-writing classic books - and even place him in the realm of sneaking in cliff notes or even Classic Comics! But those people who would dare to make such judgments have simply not read Wayne Josephson's selfless, respectful adaptations of books such as his highly regarded Readable Classics versions of 'Jane Eyre', 'The Scarlet Letter', 'Moby Dick', now 'Pride and Prejudice' and soon 'Emma'.    Reading this version …
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
I really loved this novel and didn't mind reading it in English class even though I had already read it a few times before.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
I remember this growing up!
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
I'm not sure why, but the period language isn't really a barrier to staying interested in this novel.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
If you look at this book from the humor perspective, you will understand it a lot better.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
The vocabulary is interesting, author's simply do not write the same way now. I enjoyed the historical elements, but it is a slow read.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
Quite well-written, but...I can't say I fell in love with the characters.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
love the story
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Wonderful story full of well-defined characters, some of whom are easy to love and others easy to hate. The style is purely Austen--rich in details and punctuated with witticisms directed at the folly of man (and woman). I re-read this book at least once a year!
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Amazing book! This novel brings together romance and social discourse beautifully intertwined in a classic plot of love, ambition, and obstacles to be overcome.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Greatest novel ever written!
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Everyone needs a Mr. Darcy!
Prev 1 2 3 Next
What's your opinion on Pride and Prejudice (book)?
rate
357 Ratings: +3.3
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Related Topics
1984 (British first edition)

English author George Orwell's novel set in a dystopian futu

Barnes and Noble books

A book by Jane Austen

Everyman Library

a novel by Jane Austen

Polls with this book
First to Review
© 2015 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists