Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and the rest!

Wiki

Singer-songwriter McGuire adeptly infuses her debut with hardboiled sensibilities and a wide array of mythological influences, set against a moody San Francisco backdrop. October Toby Daye is half-human, half-faerie, a changeling PI with a foot in both worlds. After spending 14 years as a fish following a botched assignment, she's desperate to avoid magic, but the dying curse of a murdered elven lady forces her to investigate the killing, with the price of failure being Toby's own painful death. Toby struggles with court intrigue, magical mayhem, would-be assassins and her own past, always driven by the need to succeed and survive. Well researched, sharply told, highly atmospheric and as brutal as any pulp detective tale, this promising start to a new urban fantasy series is sure to appeal to fans of Jim Butcher or Kim Harrison.(Sept.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.
edit this info

Tags

Details

ISBN-10:  0756405718
ISBN-13:  978-0756405717
Author:  Seanan McGuire
Publisher:  DAW
What's your opinion on Rosemary and Rue (October Daye, Book 1)?
rate
Be the first to rate!
You have exceeded the maximum length.
More Rosemary and Rue (October Daye... reviews
review by . July 31, 2010
Review courtesy of [...]    ROSEMARY AND RUE, which gets its title from Shakespeare's A Winter's Tale, is a gritty and glorious true urban fantasy. I defy you to put this book down after the first chapter.    The world building in ROSEMARY AND RUE is among the best I've ever read in an urban fantasy. The world of the Faerie is as dangerous and beautiful as a glass rose. In the human world, unbeknownst to us, Kelpies lurk in dark alleys, Pixies wage wars over …
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Speculative Fiction Books is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists