|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Wiki

Stranger in a Strange Land, winner of the 1962 Hugo Award, is the story of Valentine Michael Smith, born during, and the only survivor of, the first manned mission to Mars. Michael is raised by Martians, and he arrives on Earth as a true innocent: he has never seen a woman and has no knowledge of Earth's cultures or religions. But he brings turmoil with him, as he is the legal heir to an enormous financial empire, not to mentionde factoowner of the planet Mars. With the irascible popular author Jubal Harshaw to protect him, Michael explores human morality and the meanings of love. He founds his own church, preaching free love and disseminating the psychic talents taught him by the Martians. Ultimately, he confronts the fate reserved for all messiahs.

The impact of Stranger in a Strange Land was considerable, leading many children of the 60's to set up households based on Michael's water-brother nests. Heinlein loved to pontificate through the mouths of his characters, so modern readers must be willing to overlook the occasional sour note ("Nine times out of ten, if a girl gets raped, it's partly her fault."). That aside, Stranger in a Strange Land is one of the master's best entertainments, provocative as he always loved to be. Can you grok it? --Brooks Peck --This text refers to the Mass Market Paperback edition.

edit this info

Details

ISBN-10:  0441788386
ISBN-13:  978-0441788385
Author:  Robert A. Heinlein
Genre:  Science Fiction & Fantasy
Publisher:  Ace Trade
What's your opinion on Stranger in a Strange Land?
rate
85 Ratings: +3.4
You have exceeded the maximum length.
More Stranger in a Strange Land reviews
review by . July 31, 2011
posted in Ubergizmo
In the 60s everyone wanted to
  In retrospect, Robert A. Heinlein's STRANGER IN A STRANGE LAND seems quaintly sub-adult in its message, not much of a story, a very average "didactic" novel. In its decade, be it admitted, the turbulent 1960s and early 1970s, STRANGER was on everyone's lips. Even today, in 2011, it is selling more strongly than probably 90% of the books still in print. What was its astonishing appeal 30 and 40 years ago? What gives it staying power, even if fading?   From what I …
Quick Tip by . February 23, 2011
posted in SF Signal
   I've only read this book oh, about 30 times - but I've been slacking of late;  I don't think I've re-read in the past five years or so.      For someone not familiar with Heinlein or his works, this novel is one of the must-reads for any SF fan who wants to seriously acquire the label.  It's considered to be a major contributor to 60's counter-culture and provides some interesting insights into our own society
review by . September 18, 2010
This was the first book by Robert Heinlein that I read and from reading the first paragraph I was sucked into the genius that is this author.      Heinlein's books are thought provoking, enigmatic and sometimes a bit wacky. They make you think then turn everything upside down and shake it around. Stranger in a Strange Land was a roller coaster of new discoveries and to this day remains one of my favorite books of all time.      Heinlein's writing …
Quick Tip by . November 06, 2010
Not for me. I had a hard time connecting with it. What did you like about it?
Quick Tip by . October 08, 2010
I told my children that they were not fully my children until they read this. They are all grateful.
Quick Tip by . October 05, 2010
What can I say? This is one of the all-time classics of all time, with pointed commentary on politics, society, religion and human sexuality.
Quick Tip by . September 29, 2010
This one was oddly addictive, embarrassingly unputdownable.
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
Worth reading every year or so, not just for the import of Heinlein's message, but also for the absolute FUN and joy of reading it. Never gets old. A must for any Heinlein reader - or sci-fi anti-establishment reader. ENJOY!
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
very interesting notion of a human minority raised by aliens and trying to adapt
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Every person searching for himself would get a lot of help from this book. Imagine being a human on Mars, raised by Martians, then returning to Earth to see our culture (of the not-to-distant future). You'll get a completely new take on what it means to be human -- or, more accurately, "Thou art God." Read it to understand. Wonderful!
Photos
Stranger in a Strange Land
Related Topics
Book Cover of Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

A 2005 novel by Jonathan Safran Foer

One Hundred Years of Solitude

A book by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

The Secret Garden

book

The Scarlet Letter

by Nathaniel Hawthorne

Polls with this book
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists