|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Bell Jar

The Bell Jar

80 Ratings: 2.9
Book
14 reviews about The Bell Jar
review by . June 10, 2010
The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath is one of my favorite books of all time. If I believed in saints, Plath would be my patron. I read it for the first time when I was a sophomore in high school, and since then, I've probably read it at least once a month. And every time I pick it up, I come away with something new. That's when you know you have a brilliant piece of writing.      One of the reasons I enjoy this book so much is that everything is so vivid. Plath's character, …
review by . June 10, 2010
[Spoilers contained within]       The story of one woman’s visit with her own madness, The Bell Jar rotates around the life of Esther Greenwood. Plath tells of Esther’s trip to New York City for a summer internship at an office for a popular magazine. As she explores the city, her own reality and sense of hopelessness eat at her until she has finally had enough and attempts (several times) to commit suicide. Her attempts are half-hearted, and she ends up in …
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
Touching story, I really liked this one. IT can reach into the subconscious of every woman.
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
An uncomfortable read for me. Only because it came way to close to home. I think everyone should have to read it. Helps people either know they are not alone going through such torture or helps create an environment of understanding what someone else might be dealing with.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
This is a lovely, lovely novel written by Sylvia Plath and truly, one of my favorite books. I can't stress enough how much joy reading this brought me. I read this for the first time in high school on a whim and I'm glad I did. Plath just brings a whole new level of humanity and understanding to depression and mental issues that many other authors just can't do justice to.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Rather depressing
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
always a good classic
Quick Tip by . June 20, 2010
I've always admired Plath's work. Her poetry is dark but beautiful and true. This book disturbed me, as I believe it does many others, and in no way am I degrading this book but I almost feel as if this was her way of calling out for help.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Very depressing.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
depressing and not a bit interesting to me
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
I loved this book! a MUST READ for anyone wanting to learn more about Plath and gain an insight into her poetry.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
I was heartbroken when I realized I left this on a plane.
Quick Tip by . June 14, 2010
A grim look into the mind of Silvia Plath
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
eh it was ok
What's your opinion on The Bell Jar?
rate
80 Ratings: +2.9
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
The Bell Jar
Related Topics
Slaughterhouse-Five

A book by Kurt Vonnegut.

The Kite Runner

A 2003 novel by Khaled Hosseini.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone

The British version of the first novel in J.K. Rowling's Har

Polls with this book
1984 (British first edition)

Collection of Classics

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists