|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Giver

The Giver

257 Ratings: 3.6
A book by Lois Lowry

add a wiki

Tags: Books, Cafe Libri, Fiction, Fantasy, Young Adult, Newbery Award
Author: Lois Lowry
Genre: Children's Books, Teens
Publisher: Laurel Leaf
51 reviews about The Giver
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
sad
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
a great insight to the human soul
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Eerie, but significant. Read this in high school, when I didn't really know anything about literature, but even then I could tell that there was something important to take note of.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Fantastic explanation of how pain and suffering can be good.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Really, really loved this book. I've kept it with me always. It opened up new ways of looking at the world and our society...Great eye opener.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
This book really encourages readers to look at the unseen in life, the ultra-important aspects of who we are and what holds us together. When must we break free of societal rules or norms? A questions that materializes for readers of this classic.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
kinda creeepyy
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
A must-read for any age.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
one of my favorite books. its just really cool
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
A good introduction to complicated bioethical issues for young adults.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
creepy but good
Quick Tip by . June 20, 2010
very interesting book.
Quick Tip by . June 20, 2010
This is definitely one of my favorite books from childhood. I don't think I completely understood it, the concepts in it when I originally read it. The Giver has definitely stuck with me throughout adulthood. I also think it falls into the category of "comfort" books for most adults. Sometimes I wonder if Lowry really knew what he was creating as he wrote it.
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
Love the society created!
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
Such a great classic story!
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
this was my childhood jam; it may be the first "novel" of any "substance" i recall reading! fantastic for all ages and a nice book to use in the classroom.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
A story to engage young minds and teach the importance of free thought and emotional engagement.
Quick Tip by . June 14, 2010
This book is quite hard to understand,but it is put together nicely. The story is pretty rough which makes you have feelings afterwards. Especially because the main characters are children. Which in here they are depicted quite mature.
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
Thisis an amazing story! I will have to read this again!
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
The Giver is an amazing book that I read when still in grade school and still find beautiful. An amazing piece of literature that highlights human choices, what could happen, and leaves the reader breathless and intrigued!
Quick Tip by . June 09, 2010
Amazing book I love the ending leaves everything to your imagination
Quick Tip by . June 04, 2010
AGAIN SHOULD BE 5 OUT OF 5. This book is about feelings and experiences. These people are not suppressed but they have been deprived of certain experiences, moods and things like color. The giver and the older wise people are trying to do the best for their community. Never is this a +3.6.
Quick Tip by . June 04, 2010
Truly a fantastic book. totally one I would read again, and that's saying something.
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
not a fan.
Quick Tip by . May 26, 2010
I 1st read this book when I was in Jr. High. Read it again about a year ago and got so much more out of it! I recommend reading it again!
Prev 1 2 3 Next
What's your opinion on The Giver?
rate
257 Ratings: +3.6
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
The Giver
Related Topics

A book by Wilson Rawls

Many Waters

Madeleine L'Engle's 1986 sequel to "A Wrinkle in Time".

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone

The British version of the first novel in J.K. Rowling's Har

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists