|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Giving Tree

The Giving Tree

203 Ratings: 3.9
A book by Shel Silverstein.

   The Giving Tree, first published in 1964 by Harper & Row, is a children's book written and illustrated by Shel Silverstein. This book has become one of Silverstein's best known titles and has been translated … see full wiki

Author: Shel Silverstein
Genre: Children's Books
Publisher: Harper & Row
Date Published: 1964
27 reviews about The Giving Tree
review by . June 16, 2010
This is such a great book!  It really teaches people of all ages important things with simple yet perfect illustrations.  This book carries strong life lessons that will carry on with a person for a long time.   I really love how simple the illustrations are because they send such a powerful message!  I think for every age ground there is probably a different meaning to this book!  Teaching giving is a lot better than receiving even though it might feel hard at the …
Quick Tip by . August 09, 2010
Good training for a relationship without reciprocal giving. Hating on Twilight's message is popular but this one is at least as bad.
review by . July 03, 2010
This is an oldie but a goodie.  I'm not going to tell you much more.  A short read with a beautiful message.  One to pass down to future generations.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
My mom used to read this book to me when I was younger. It is a really sad story. Shel Silverstein is a great talent.
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
Quick, simple, and thought provoking!
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
I was just thinking of this story the other day for my daughter...such a nice message.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
A somewhat co-dependent tale of a tree that gives literally all to a young boy, "and the tree was happy," and the boy was never anything but dissatisfied with anything that the tree gave. In his lectures, Leo Buscaglia gave this book a scathing pan. Sometimes, instead of giving all, you need to say, "Take a hike, Jack!"
Quick Tip by . June 25, 2010
Love this book to an embarrassing level. (Secretly wanted to kick the boys butt for not properly appreciating his trees giving nature...) This book makes me heart ache.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Another classic from my childhood! Very meaningful.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Beautiful, sweet and charming
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Who doesn't love this book?
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
one of my favorite books as a child
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
To be frank, I was disappointed.
Quick Tip by . June 20, 2010
very fun childrens book
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
I believe I was in middle school when I read The Giving Tree, seventh grade to be exact. To be honest, as we were reading through this book I think I found the end the most surprising but isn't that the way it is supposed to be? Of course! It's amazing how this simple tale can teach such a big lesson to little ones (and some adults!).
Quick Tip by . June 18, 2010
Awesome book with great lessons about life and living and loving for all ages
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
We used to hear this story every year in school and it totally broke my heart every time! It is such a beautiful story, but so sad too.
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
Give it a 4.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
Great book about giving.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
This is one of my favorite books of all time!
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
Another awesome Shel Silverstein book. Great for anyone who ever asks what do I get out of it.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
I loved this book when I was small and it still makes me cry today. It brings me so much happiness to read it to my daughter now.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
A really nice book to read to your kids
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
I heard someone say once that in their family they call this book The Taking Boy. I love that.
Quick Tip by . June 14, 2010
another great book by Shel Silverstein with a great message for everyone.
1 2 Next
What's your opinion on The Giving Tree?
rate
203 Ratings: +3.9
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
The Giving Tree
Related Topics
The Cat in the Hat

A 1957 children's book by Dr. Seuss.

Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day by Judith Viorst

a picture book by Judith Viorst

Where the Sidewalk Ends Shel Silverstein

A book by Shel Silverstein.

Polls with this book
Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What do you see?

"Rate these Children's Books"

by

First to Review

"This brings back memories!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists