|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Great Gatsby

The Great Gatsby

628 Ratings: 3.0
A novel by the American author F. Scott Fitzgerald

In 1925, The Great Gatsby was published and hailed as an artistic and material success for its young author, F. Scott Fitzgerald. It is considered a vastly more mature and artistically masterful treatment of Fitzgerald's themes than his earlier … see full wiki

Author: F. Scott Fitzgerald
Genre: Literature & Fiction
Publisher: Scribner
78 reviews about The Great Gatsby
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2010
I preferred reading the Damned and the Beautiful. However, Nafisi's interpretation of G.Gatsby in her book, Reading Lolita in Tehran, elucidates a nice interpretation
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2010
This book was ok. It started off slow but got better. However, to me, it was a book about nothing.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
The Great Gatsby is one of the greatest love stories of all time. I have heard there is a movie as well, but I have not seen it, Its a definite classic.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
One of the best journeys a reader can take.
review by . July 04, 2010
This is a great book to read if you are interested in learning more about partying!  Let me tell you a little about it...   Nick’s next-door neighbor in West Egg is a mysterious man named Jay Gatsby, who lives in a gigantic Gothic mansion and throws extravagant parties every Saturday night.  As the summer progresses, Nick eventually garners an invitation to one of Gatsby’s legendary parties. He encounters Jordan Baker at the party, and they meet Gatsby himself, a …
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
I really disliked this book. I was 15 when I read this book, and even then I found the symbolism to be obvious and superficial.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Liked this book.
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
an easy read with interesting characters and a great plot
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
I always liked the idea of the book more than the actual book.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Much is made of this rather transparent short novel about equally transparent people. Couldn't hold my interest.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
This book is about an era. It shows the lives of people who lived in a specific period. And Gatsby is one of the significant figures of that period, at least in literature. You will enjoy experiencing the rich lifestyle of Gatsby and his friends. I was assigned to read this book, but that's why I take literature classes. I get to read classics, not textbooks.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
my absolute favorite American novel!
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
a different spin on the 1920s
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Undeniably one of the greatest historical fiction novels of them all.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
This is a classic, and with good reason. It captures all the excitement of the Roaring 20's.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Wayyy overrated. He just mopes.
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
Great book a must read in school.
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
not that grreat
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
One of Fitzgerald's finest.
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
Some of the best imagery and atmosphere I've read in a book!
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
The man who has everything but nothing but emptiness inside...a parable for the 1920's
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
Excellent story... classic and wonderful
Quick Tip by . June 25, 2010
Not a personal favorite, but it's in the canon for a reason.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Wonderful character descriptions
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Nope. Fitzgerald books are well written, so that keeps you reading, but his characters are like himself. Rich, selfish, angry..and proud.
Prev 1 2 3 4 Next
What's your opinion on The Great Gatsby?
rate
628 Ratings: +3.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Related Topics
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

A book by Mark Twain

To Kill a Mockingbird

A Pulitzer Prize-winning novel by Harper Lee published in 19

1984 (British first edition)

English author George Orwell's novel set in a dystopian futu

Polls with this book
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists