|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Kite Runner

The Kite Runner

475 Ratings: 3.0
A 2003 novel by Khaled Hosseini.

The Kite Runner is a novel by the author Khaled Hosseini. Published in 2003 by Bloomsbury Publishing plc, it is Hosseini's first novel, and was adapted into a film of the same name in 2007. The Kite Runner tells the story of Amir, a young boy from … see full wiki

Author: Khaled Hosseini
Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Riverhead Books
Date Published: June 2003
ISBN: ISBN 1-59448-000-1
73 reviews about The Kite Runner
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
need to read
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
gripping, excellent characters, something you don't hear about much in press or movies, at least the human side of it
review by . June 24, 2010
I was required to read this book in high school when it came out. I loved the book. It is very powerful and brings the story to life. The book provokes great questions for discussions and I enjoyed reading it through school and being able to talk about the book in class. I have already recommended it to quite a few people.  
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Fantastic book that really helped me understand a different culture, and the difficulties of assimilating in the US. A true story about friendship and loyalty
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
This book is a very touching story. The setting and the plot are so far from most of our daily lives that we are immediately captured and enthralled by it.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Not for the faint of heart
review by . June 23, 2010
This story is very real and incredibly sad.  You feel as if you are there with the young boys as it chronicles their troubled upbringing.  You feel their pain and sadness and you hope for the best for them.  It was difficult to read because of this but still hard to put down.  I would recommend it to anyone who thinks that we have it rough here in the United States.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Very powerful book...engaging all the way through.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
NIce timing for this one. Just what the world needed--a gritty, heart-wrenching novel from the Middle East. Ending was a bit far-fetched, but I recommend the story.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
An uplifting, and at times harrowing, look at life in Taliban-run Afghanistan.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
Fantastic true story, even better as book on tape read by author since it is about his life. Movie also good, but book better. Shocking different perspective from inside a country decades ago that makes so many headlines today.
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
good book but not quite sure whether worth all the hype
Quick Tip by . June 20, 2010
great
review by . June 19, 2010
This book is a must read for anyone if for nothing else than to educate oneself about the history of Afghanistan and to gain a better understanding of how the Taliban regime came into being.  This is a story of two young men, Amir and Hassan, from different ethnic groups who are split apart by the uprising of the Taliban because of their different backgrounds and cultural power.  The two boys are best friends growing up in Kabul, but things quickly change one day as …
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
very interesting
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
Excellent book. Gives readers inside look of the middle east--the good and the bad.
review by . June 17, 2010
Very thought provoking and emotional story about two kids...I thought it was sad to see two different worlds, one poor and one rich but they got along so well.  I couldn't believe that this is a debut novel, written so well for a first time writer.  Read this book and then watch the movie, you will enjoy both
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
v. intense read
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
sounds very dull
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
greatest book ever!
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
An interesting read with some insight into a foreign culture. At time's the writing gets overbearing, but generally enjoyable.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
good book
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Did not enjoy the topic at all, it was dull and did not keep me interested.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Heartbreaking.
Quick Tip by . June 12, 2010
Great book, it deserves every great review its been given. Khaled Hosseini tells a masterful story and introduces us to a much more personal look at life in the middle east.
Prev 1 2 3 Next
What's your opinion on The Kite Runner?
rate
475 Ratings: +3.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Related Topics
A Thousand Splendid Suns

A book by Khaled Hosseini.

Aksandar

A book by Judith Montgomery

Kabul in Winter: Life Without Peace in Afghanistan

A book by Ann Jones

Polls with this book
1984 (British first edition)

Books

by

207EA91D9D797247F2940C09794A57F

Books Turned Movies

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists