|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

608 Ratings: 3.5
A Christian fantasy novel for children written by C.S. Lewis.

add a wiki

Author: Clive Staples Lewis
Genre: Christian Fantasy, Fantasy, Young Adult Fiction
Publisher: HarperCollins, HarperFestival
82 reviews about The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
I first read this as a kid, before I knew it was a Christian allegory. Read as just a kid's adventure story, it was great! Later in retrospect it seemed sort of strange, but it is still a pretty good story.
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
I've enjoyed this book since I was young. CS Lewis had an incredible imagination!
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Brings back childhood memories
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
A rich and beautiful allegory, filled with so many Essential (in the sense of original, ancient) symbols that it surpasses the claims of being "a Christian tale." Lewis, a master of philosophical literature of all kinds, draws on myriad sources to tell a tale of courage, discovery, loyalty, sacrifice, and good overcoming evil. Every reader needs this one under his/her belt!
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
A wonderful children's book!
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
great book. great movie. a very very fantasy oriented book about a magical forest. i also liked all the christian analogies cs lewis threw in there. i am not christian myself, but that does not mean i cant appreciate someone elses beliefs and the art it took for him to apply those kinds of legends into his writing. very interesting series that im just starting to re read. currently re reading the magicians nephew aka book 1 of 7.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Another classic Hollywood sucked the soul from
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
One of the best kid's books ever. Deep, yet easy to follow.
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
this is a good bedtime story set of books
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
Children's classic
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
This may be a book for children, but I loved it even reading it as a grownup. I hope I never outgrow my feeling that sometimes fantasy should be able to come true.
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
love it -- love the imagination and the words just come to life
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
Great children's book classic!
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
grew up with this
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
CS Lewis at his best and that is saying A LOT.
Quick Tip by . June 25, 2010
I loved this book even before it was a movie. The shiver down my spine as they sheered the mane off of Azlan, was a major reason I still read this book at 36. Deeply moving and much deeper undertones than many first realized upon reading it the first time. A perfect book for that boy who refuses to settle down and sleep.
Quick Tip by . June 25, 2010
A classic! Great for children and adults.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
An absolutely wonderful read for children of all ages! In fact, I didn't read it until high school, but I loved it as much as any child I know upon reading it the first time.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Always a keeper. One of those childhood fantasy that makes you want to explore every house, every nook and cranny. And the wonderful people in the wardrobe make you hate those superior to you (the queen).
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
One of the greatest stories ever told. Lewis is a genius of fantasy in this fantastic allegory.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
I loved this book and the others!
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Great book...even with the Christian themes, it is worth a read.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Always good to take a trip to place does not exist. Wonderful.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
great of course
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Great piece of a great series. Read it as a youth and some of the books again as an adult. Lewis is a great Christian author who writes great parables with positive messages.
Prev 1 2 3 4 Next
What's your opinion on The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe?
rate
608 Ratings: +3.5
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Related Topics
Jones' Howl's Moving Castle

Novel by Dianna Wynne Jones

james and the giant peach

A novel by Roald Dahl

The Witches

a book by Roald Dahl

Polls with this book
1984 (British first edition)

Books

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists