|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Outsiders (book)

The Outsiders (book)

169 Ratings: 3.3
A book by S. E. Hinton.
25 reviews about The Outsiders (book)
review by . July 03, 2010
I know that story lines have changed, kids have changed, but we still have socs and greasers in every school.  We still have the prettiest girl and the bully.  I read this book when I was in the 8th grade over 29 years ago.  It was got me away from the Nancy Drew books.  Now 29 years later my children are reading it and they are getting the same message out of it that I did.  It was nice to actually have some mutual ground to discuss with my children and how it relates to …
review by . June 12, 2010
This book "The outsiders" is about a small "youth-gang" called the Greasers. They have rival's call "Socs", they are a social "gang" pretty much jock's. This book grabs a hold of you and pulls you into the life of the characters.   Characters:   Most are also in other S.E Hinton Books   Ponyboy Curtis -  The novel’s fourteen-year-old main character      Darrel Curtis - Ponyboy’s oldest …
Quick Tip by . July 16, 2010
Mediocre, but entertaining. "The Outsiders," should tide over those that thought there should have been a "Grease 3."
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
The most memorable book from my teen years, oh how I cried! And now my son read it in middle school and liked it too. Timeless emotions!
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
Another book that I was required to read in junior high and one that I have come to love very much.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
read this book in Middle school. It was okay. I am always a bit skeptical of the books that we have to read in school:)
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
another one of my favorites. more up there than others though. most teenage boys can relate a lot to theses kids, even if its just in there head, they feel for them. the epic journey of two boys living alone isolated like that because of a system that would just see a "greaser", when all they did was defend themselves. i love this tale, dally is my favorite, stay gold.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Even though (or because?) this is a middle school staple, it's a pretty good book.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Classic.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Great book for kids the age of the characters, this will be a touchstone for kids as they go through school.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
book changed my life
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
so much better than the movie!! you need to read this book, it was one of the first books when i was a young teen that captured my attention
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
Great book about society and youth of the time.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Great book as it engages the young reader. Very profound in its simplicity.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Classic coming of age and friends are everything book. A high school top pick, all the students love it--especially at a school with gang prominence like the school i teach at. The movie is also a classic.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
depressing story
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
this was a favorite and I agree with sk8r901, you really feel like you are drawn into the book, it becomes your reality!
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
becoming a little outdated
Quick Tip by . June 20, 2010
great book.
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
great book
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
The 12-year-old version of myself was quite taken with this book. OK, I was obsessed. Plus, the movie had a ton of smokin' hot dudes. Stay gold, Ponyboy, stay gold.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
I love this book. It tells a great story. This was an reading assignment for my high school English class and I'm really glad it was. I've read it a few times since then and seen the movie too. Very good.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Interesting, not real up beat
Quick Tip by . June 14, 2010
A great book for young adults.
review by . June 14, 2010
   This is my favorite book ever. It is inspiring and emotional and great. I believe that every single teenager should read this.
What's your opinion on The Outsiders (book)?
rate
169 Ratings: +3.3
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
The Outsiders (Novel)
Related Topics
Slaughterhouse-Five

A book by Kurt Vonnegut.

Shutter Island

A book by Dennis Lehane.

Polls with this book
A Clockwork Orange

Coming of Age Novels

by

First to Review

"The Outsiders"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists