|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Wiki

Wikipedia page for The Return of the King
Tolkien conceived of The Lord of the Rings as a single volume comprising six "books" plus extensive appendices. The original publisher split the work into three, publishing the fifth and sixth books with the appendices under the title The Return of the King. Tolkien felt the chosen title revealed too much of the story, and indicated he preferred The War of the Ring as a title.
Tolkien may have hoped to publish the one large volume together with The Silmarillion, and to give names to the individual six books.The proposed title for Book V was The War of the Ring. Book VI was to be The End of the Third Age. These titles were used in the Millenium edition.
The Return of the King was in the end published as the third and final part of The Lord of the Rings, on October 20, 1955.
edit this info

Details

Author:  John Ronald Reuel Tolkien (J.R.R. Tolkien)
Genre:  Fantasy, Epic Adventure, Classic Literature
Publisher:  Allen & Unwin
Date Published:  October 20, 1955
Format:  Novel
What's your opinion on The Return of the King?
rate
81 Ratings: +4.1
You have exceeded the maximum length.
More The Return of the King reviews
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
The adventure had to end, but it feels as if it was handled very well.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Best book in the series!
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
A well-written story. I like it very much.
Quick Tip by . June 25, 2010
A real masterpiece. This final installment of the Lord of the Rings is moving and meaningful.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Wonderfully written! The world is well crafted (to say the least) and the entire series is intriguing and meaningful. The final book is no exception. Certainly worth all the hype it's earned over the years.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
The Lord of the Rings is my favorite book.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
Best part of the series. READ THE APPENDICES!!!! Some of Tolkien's most moving prose appears there.
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
A beautifully written and touching final chapter in the epic Lord of the Rings Trilogy.
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
extreemley well written
review by . March 14, 2002
Pros: Will whisk you off to a wonderful fantasy world and never bring you back     Cons: Don't start reading it during finals week     The Bottom Line: Middle-earth is a nice place. I suggest you vacation there sometime.     Well, I did it. It took me two long months of fighting with school and work, but I finally did it. I finally finished the third part of J.R.R. Tolkien's legendary Lord of the Rings trilogy. And I am now officially a …
Photos
The Return of the King
Related Topics
The Fellowship of the Ring

The first volume of J.R.R. Tolkien's epic 3-part fantasy nov

The Two Towers

The second volume of J.R.R. Tolkien's epic 3-part fantasy no

The Silmarillion

J.R.R. Tolkien's mythopoeic pre-history of the Elves in Midd

First to Review
Polls with this book
The Children of Húrin

Favorite Literary Works by Tolkien

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists