|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Sun Also Rises

The Sun Also Rises

138 Ratings: 3.2
The first major novel by Ernest Hemingway, published in 1926

   The Sun Also Rises is the first major novel by Ernest Hemingway (July 21, 1899 – July 2, 1961). Published in 1926, the plot centers on a group of expatriate American citizens and British subjects in continental Europe during the 1920s. … see full wiki

11 reviews about The Sun Also Rises
review by . June 30, 2010
   Whenever I tell people that Ernest Hemingway is one of my favorite authors, I immediately receive a negative reaction. "He is an alcoholic, he is a masogonist, he is a bad person, etc." However, I've learned that usually alcoholics, mean spirited people, and those who have no real relationships, are the ones who have been hurt the most. For every mean thing someone says, or every bad thing someone does, they have been hurt twice as much. Ernest Hemingway was a complicated …
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
When you read this book, only one word comes to mind - genius!
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
Everybody should read some Hemingway.
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
I was struck by the undercurrent of sadness
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
A decent read
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
I've read this book a few times and each time I find something new to appreciate. This book and A Moveable Feast are my favorite Hemingway novels.
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
I have ever liked Hemingway. Ever.
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
Love Hemingway but this is not a favorite
Quick Tip by . June 18, 2010
Try not to tackle this book in one week or even in two weeks. There's too much going on here to merit anything less than a good old fashioned summer to get through this neat book. Thank goodness for that because it's too good not to hurry through!
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Another classic literature novel that I just didn't enjoy the way I should have.
Quick Tip by . June 04, 2010
This book is good because Hemingway is good even though some people do not like how he lied about his service and some of his experiences. Hemingway should definitely not be someones only source of literature.
What's your opinion on The Sun Also Rises?
rate
138 Ratings: +3.2
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
The Sun Also Rises
Related Topics
Sun Also Rises Ernest Hemingway

Hemingway's first real novel, after an abortive early effort

Anna Karenina

a novel by Leo Tolstoy

World According To Garp

a novel by John Irving

Polls with this book
1984 (British first edition)

Books

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists