|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Thicker than Blood

Thicker than Blood

1 rating: 3.0
A book by C. J. Darlington

-With Thicker than Blood, C.J. Darlington proves she-s a novelist for the long haul, a strong new voice in Christian fiction. This book speaks to the heart, from the heart, about the heart. Readers will not soon forget it.-SIBELLA GIORELLO, Christy Award-winning … see full wiki

Tags: Books
Author: C. J. Darlington
Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers
1 review about Thicker than Blood

Solid Inspiration Storytelling with Heavy Themes

  • Jan 15, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+3
Thicker Than Blood is an impressive first novel from a gifted writer. Though I read an Advanced Reader Copy with a few mistakes, the characterization, threads, suspense level and writing are beyond the usual freshman novel.

C.J. Darlington has crafted a story that handles heavy topics like shame, alcoholism, promiscuity, abuse, theft and abortion with realism and grace. Though her characters didn't always warm my heart I was drawn into their stories and I found myself cheering them on and even tearing up as they grew and matured.

The details about cattle ranching and book hunting added enriching information that made the story interesting as well as merely entertaining. I appreciated Darlington's light but deep spiritual details as well. Christy's path toward forgiveness didn't feel contrived or added as an afterthought. The character prone to violent outbursts didn't cross over into extreme cheesiness or gratuitous posturing either.

Overall, this is a book that should appeal to those who love edgy, realistic writing with Christian themes and hopeful conclusions. Fans of  Amy Wallace and Kathy Herman should find much to love in this novel.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
What's your opinion on Thicker than Blood?
rate
1 rating: +3.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Thicker than Blood
Related Topics
The Da Vinci Code, Special Illustrated Edition

A book by Dan Brown

A Clockwork Orange

A novel by Anthony Burgess

Love in the Time of Cholera

A book by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists