|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » To Kill a Mockingbird (book)

To Kill a Mockingbird (book)

837 Ratings: 3.7
A Pulitzer Prize-winning novel by Harper Lee published in 1960

The novel is renowned for its warmth and humor, despite dealing with the serious issues of rape and racial inequality. The narrator's father, Atticus Finch, has served as a moral hero for many readers, and a model of integrity for lawyers. One critic … see full wiki

Author: Harper Lee
Genre: Fiction
Publisher: J. B. Lippincott & Co.
Date Published: July 11, 1960
133 reviews about To Kill a Mockingbird (book)
review by . June 22, 2010
To Kill A Mockingbird is a pertinent, striking and controversial novel that will tug on your heart strings and leave you breathless.   Harper Lee's characters are believable and relevant.  Her heroes are everyday folks in a small town with as many hangups and opinions as heartaches and good intentions.   An excellent read for most any age.
Quick Tip by . July 29, 2010
Dry, and so politically obvious. No true depth; it just follows social trends.
Quick Tip by . July 20, 2010
It's been a long time since i've read it but I did like it. I even liked the movie.
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
this book is a must read for everyone, seriously. i not only had to read it but know it inside out back in high school as it was on a list of literature books we were to be tested on come external exam time. it deals with some issues which were serious and relevant then as they are today. racism and rape among them and how different individuals seek to deal with them. there is a lot to be learned from this book which can be applied to current everyday life.
Quick Tip by . July 17, 2010
There are so many layers to this book. It can be enjoyed over and over again by readers of all ages.
Quick Tip by . July 17, 2010
This is such a wonderfully balanced piece. No matter what age you are you can pick up on its many layers. Each time you read it you'll notice something deeper than the last time.
Quick Tip by . July 16, 2010
A true American classic. There's no other term for it
Quick Tip by . July 16, 2010
Though long winded as so many classics tend to be today, "To Kill a Mockingbird," tackled pressing issues with clarity and firmness.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
An absolute classic. Everyone should be required to read this.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
read it in high school and it still one of those book that sticks with you
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
This book has had varying critical reviews because of it's controversial nature. Yet, to me, it's a solid literary classic.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
This is a classic. This is a book that will teach you life lessons.
Quick Tip by . July 10, 2010
still have not forgot about this one. takes me back
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
Absolutely deserves a place in the American cannon.
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
It is difficult to say too much about this book. It is my favorite piece of literature. I have read upwards of 10,000 books and still have not found another that lives up to the literary genius in this one.
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
One of the first "classics" I ever read, and loved it. As a "Yankee" bred child it really opened my eyes.
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2010
Of late this book has endured criticism as less than deserving of its status in the canon. It is important to remember this book's intended audience. With that in mind, it is truly remarkable.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
An all time national favorite. A great look back in time of the law and racism.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
I have read this book multiple times, and it is one of the greatest stories of all time. Scout is the greatest character. I loved the book and the movie is great as well.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
There have been many retelling of this book, many copy cat writers. And frankly I like them better. I just don't like Harper Lee's style too much. The story itself is gripping and amazing. The narration just isn't for me.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
This book is fantastic. It just is.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Tale of respect and discovery by a family in the American south
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
One of the classics worth reading again and again.
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
super book with a great story and excellent life lessons
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Beautiful, important story. Everyone should read this.
Prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 6 Next
What's your opinion on To Kill a Mockingbird (book)?
rate
837 Ratings: +3.7
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Related Topics
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

A book by Mark Twain

The Great Gatsby

A novel by the American author F. Scott Fitzgerald

Barnes and Noble books

A novel by Jane Austen.

Polls with this book
1984 (British first edition)

Books

by

A Clockwork Orange

Coming of Age Novels

by

2666: A Novel

Rate these Bestsellers!

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists