|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Twilight (book)

Twilight (book)

1112 Ratings: 0.1
The first book in the "Twilight Saga" by Stephenie Meyer.

Twilight is the debut, young-adult vampire-romance novel by author Stephenie Meyer. Twilight was initially rejected by 14 agents, but became an instant bestseller when published originally in hardback in 2005, debuting at #5 on the New York Times Best … see full wiki

Author: Stephenie Meyer
Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, Vampires
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Date Published: October 5, 2005
178 reviews about Twilight (book)
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
One must clear their mind before reading this book and forget everything you thought you knew or heard.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
I have no idea why these books are so popular. I read them at the insistence of a friend and, although they are extremely quick reads, the writing is atrocious. The story isn't bad, but the writing is so repetitious and the vocabulary so narrow that it is painful to read. Plus, it's pretty creepy how many adolescent girls are obsessed with a character who shows all the classic signs of an abuser. Sends a pretty scary message--is Meyer an anti-feminist??
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
I did not enjoy the book until the end and even then, I was not convinced I would read the sequels. I still haven't.
review by . June 23, 2010
I had heard a great deal about the famed "Twilight" boo, which is the first in the series by Stephanie Meyer.  And I was reluctant to read something that was SO popular, as I felt that many were "jumping on the bandwagon" about it.  But finally, after a great deal of pushing by friends I picked it up and began to read.  And though it started out slowly, it quickly gained momentum into one of the best books I have ever read.  It is a powerful love story set …
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
While it's a fun, entertaining read, the actual story doesn't begin until about 3/4 of the way through. The lack of plot is pretty disappointing.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
An extremely popular series for young adults. Vampires are back.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
A great book for young women who like to live vicariously through the main character - but poorly written and air-headed all the same.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
Full of cliche's and completely against any sort of feminist agenda but at least its getting kids to read.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
I liked Twilight because of the personal writing style and quirky characters. Although I found it enjoyable and amusing, it's not a book of much substance.
review by . June 22, 2010
This book is a mind blowing phenomenon that has found its was to thousands of homes. It was a New York Times #1 best seller. It also had a movie out. There are 3 books following this one in the saga but this one was the best I thought. It is a love story about vampires and a girl who found her way to them. Bella Swan moved to Forks, Washington to live with her dad. little did she know her life would never be the same. Her story consists of love, will, strength, and desire. Edward is her lover and …
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
read this BEFORE you see the movie :)
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
the world would be a much better place without these books.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
You have to read the first before you see the movies!
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
Not just for teens~ A great story that sucks you in right away. The book is way better than the movie!!
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
good book, way better than the movies!! rob does not do edward cullen justice.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
Don't see what the big deal is.
review by . June 21, 2010
I'm not 15 and I don't like Robert Pattison. I don't have a vampire fantasy and I don't want to marry Edward Cullen.  I think Twilight is a great read, though. I'm happy to admit it. All the books in the series are great.   Stephanie Meyer has talent as a writer. I pick one of these books up and I do not want to put it down. Even New Moon, which I don't really care for. Her character development is superb. You get to know Bella and want to slap her a bit for …
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
I hate the twilight series. But many people love them.
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
Teaches the fantastic lesson that women should be vapid and weak and love abusive, stalkerish men, all while speaking more flamboyantly than a Victorian romance novel.
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
The only thing redeemable about this book is that she got published. Somehow. Which means someone saw talent in this. I, however, did not.
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
It depends if you are interested in a good novel to help you relax and forget about all the problems in your life. I enjoy reading the Twilight books, because it takes me to a world I would have never gone. Yes, there are people who says this kind of books are not worth it to read, but now my question is. Why do you junk food? If we should just read all these socalled "perfect" books, how boring will the world then be? My personal opinion is it's excellent to read whatever you want, we're humans
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
3 fav. of the series
Quick Tip by . June 18, 2010
Try to read this book with no one around ya. It's too much fun to read to pay attention to other people!
Quick Tip by . June 18, 2010
It's an acceptable enough read for a teenage girl. Not so acceptable if you are a middle-aged man.(-to the 40-something man with his nose buried in it as he walked down the street. Maybe he was just catering to his inner teenage girl?)
review by . June 17, 2010
Nothing is more romantic than vampire/human love story. 
Prev 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 8 Next
What's your opinion on Twilight (book)?
rate
1112 Ratings: +0.1
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Related Topics
Stephenie Meyer's New Moon

The second book in the "Twilight Saga" by Stephenie Meyer.

Hourglass (Evernight)

A book by Claudia Gray

Eclipse (The Twilight Saga, Book 3)

The third book in the "Twilight Saga" by Stephenie Meyer.

Polls with this book
A Time to Kill

Best Books Ever

by

'Salem's Lot

Pick Your Favorite Vampire Books

by

A Wrinkle in Time

Favorite YA Paranormal / Fantasy?

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists