|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Walking to Gatlinburg: A Novel

Walking to Gatlinburg: A Novel

3 Ratings: 4.7
A book by Howard Frank Mosher

A Civil War odyssey in the tradition of Charles Frazier'sCold Mountainand Robert Olmstead'sCoal Black Horse, Mosher's latest (afterOn Kingdom Mountain), about a Vermont teenager's harrowing journey south to find his missing-in-action … see full wiki

Author: Howard Frank Mosher
Publisher: Crown
3 reviews about Walking to Gatlinburg: A Novel
review by . March 29, 2010
Morgan Kinneson, from Kingdom County, Vermont, does indeed walk to Gatlinburg and even deeper into the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains of Tennessee (but not to the North Carolina side--the water tastes bad there, a mountaineer tells him) during the last year of the Civil War. But this is neither a standard road story nor a Civil War story. It is more fable than historical fiction. It is odd, disconcerting, and elegiac--the closest comparison I can think of in terms of its journey, scope, and …
review by . April 08, 2010
I have read many (but not all) of Mr. Mosher's previous works, and enjoyed them very much. This latest one is another that gave me great pleasure in reading.    Basically, the plot revolves around Morgan Kinneson, a 17 year old lad from the mythical Kingdom County, Vermont, who travels South to find his brother Pilgrim, an army surgeon who disappears during the battle of Gettysburg. There are excellent characters in this book, fantastic (even if somewhat mystifying) incidents, …
review by . February 27, 2010
A beautiful runaway slave girl. Her small brother, tortured for his secrets. A young man searching for his older brother through the chaos of war. And a band of psychopathic killers terrorizing the land with violence and death. It is 1864 and the War Between the States rages on in America, north against south, brother against brother. And among the fringe dwellers of the war are the murderous miscreants who seek to destroy the Underground Railroad, men like Doctor Surgeon, Prophet Floyd, a mad preacher, …
What's your opinion on Walking to Gatlinburg: A Novel?
rate
3 Ratings: +4.7
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Walking to Gatlinburg: A Novel
Related Topics
Uncle Tom's Cabin

Book

Shamanslayer

A book by Nathan Long

Into the Wild

A book by Jon Krakauer

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists