|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Where the Red Fern Grows (book)

Where the Red Fern Grows (book)

274 Ratings: 3.3
A book by Wilson Rawls

add a wiki

Tags: Books, Cafe Libri, Fiction, Novels, Young Adult, Wilson Rawls
Author: Wilson Rawls
39 reviews about Where the Red Fern Grows (book)
review by . June 07, 2010
In Rawls' book, Where the Red Fern Grows, the reader follows Billy Coleman as he earns the money for two coonhounds over the course of two years by selling things to fishermen and his grandfather. While Billy trains his pups their friendship is built up, as well as their loyalty.   Billy and the dogs' first raccoon proves difficult to capture, leading Billy to have to cut down the tree. The struggle is interesting and keeps you on your toes, not wanting to put the book down.   …
Quick Tip by . July 17, 2010
If you are a crier, this might not be the best choice for you. This story is so heartwarming and heartbreaking all at the same time - a must read for any dog lover.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
Very sad :( but any animal lover will love. Tells a tale of the values of hard work, friendship, and love.
review by . July 09, 2010
It has been many years since I read this book, but it remains a favorite along with such classics as “The Yearling” and “Ol’ Yeller”. It is the same type of book, about a young boy who needs a friend and finds one in an animal when human friends are few and far between.       The Ozarks are a region in that stretches from southern Missouri and northern Arkansas in to eastern Oklahoma and Kansas. It is filled with ancient mountains and reclusive …
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
Read this one as a child. It is a book that means a lot to me because I grew up in the Ozarks.
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
This still makes me cry
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Such a great childhood story...tearjerker!
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Loved this book as a young adult. Tearjerker!!
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Great book, I love dogs
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
another on to make me cry!
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
No dog lover could read this book and NOT cry.
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
This book makes me cry every single time I read it. Absolutely heart-rending. One of my favorite parts of my childhood.
Quick Tip by . June 25, 2010
This is the first book I can ever remember reading in school that vaguely traumatized me. It's an excellent story for any young adult to read.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
The only book that has ever made me cry. Losing someone, or something, you love is the hardest lesson in life. It forever changes you. This book has forever changed countless young people. What a story of friendship, love, and loss.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Had to read this in school...I actually liked it a lot.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
good book. heart breaking
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
This book breaks my heart.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
Could never get over the ending.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
I remember reading this in school and it being devastatingly sad!
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
This is one of the few books that can make a 13 year old boy well up.
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
classic story about a boy and his dog
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
This book torn my heart to pieces. I read this book in grade six like most people. As this boy ventured off with his dear friends and endured his struggles, I really connected with this book.
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
This was something that I had to read in my English class back in middle school. I didn't like it and I don't even think I finished it. There's a chance it's just not the genre of literature I enjoy, but I really can't remember anything but being bored by this and not wanting to finish it.
Quick Tip by . June 18, 2010
Wholesome animal-book goodness.
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
posted in Life with Dogs
Love this book!
1 2 Next
What's your opinion on Where the Red Fern Grows (book)?
rate
274 Ratings: +3.3
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Related Topics
The City of Ember a novel by Jeanne DuPrau

A novel by Jeanne DuPrau about the aftermath of World War

The Giver

A book by Lois Lowry

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists