|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Music » Reviews » Dixie Chicks: Wide Open Spaces

Dixie Chicks: Wide Open Spaces

5 Ratings: 3.6
1998 audio CD release

Wide Open Spaces is the fourth album by American country music band the Dixie Chicks, released in 1998 (see 1998 in music). It was their first record with new lead vocalist Natalie Maines, and became their breakthrough commercial success. It received … see full wiki

1 review about Dixie Chicks: Wide Open Spaces

A Quick Tip by CMTTCountryGirl

  • Dec 9, 2010
This is one of my all time favorite albums. I miss the Dixie Chicks. Would love for them to release new music.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
4
Post a Comment
December 09, 2010
ariajuliet - what is it about this CD that changed your perspective? Is it the song writing or the sounds of the music that made you like it? You said you were never into country music before this CD so it makes me think you like the sound of it. Let me know and I will send you a few suggestions. :)
 
December 09, 2010
Trekscribbler - I guess what I mean was that I think the situation got a bit out of hand. People having Dixie Chicks CD burn parties and people running their CD's over with bulldozers. I do think that in most cases the artists should keep their personal political "feelings" off of the stage. But I think to sent their career into a hole the way it did was just a bit silly. I hear a lot of feedback from our readers on CMTT and the Dixie Chicks are missed by a lot of country music fans. Country music has definitely changed since they were on the top of their game but the brought a lot of talent to our genre of music. Country music didn't feel a loss when they left as an industry but in loosing them they took a lot of the "girl power" away.
December 09, 2010
Again, I understand where you're coming from, I think we just disagree on the outcomes a bit. Sure, the CD burning parties were a bit bizarre ... I'll give ya that. I didn't quite understand that development, but I think some people were monopolizing on the negative publicity delivered in the wake of Maines' comments. They're responsible for their careers being in a hole, though. They embraced these developments like no one I've ever seen on the music scene, and that's why I'd say that they seriously have no one else to blame but themselves. It's a hard lesson to learn, but I don't think Maines has taken it to heart, either.
 
December 09, 2010
I love this CD. My mom is really into country music and I was never interested in it, but this CD changed my perspective 180! Do you have similar recommendations for other artists?
December 09, 2010
This is a great CD, and I'm not sure that you'll find all that many out there that match its potential, but, if you're looking for harmonies and catchy hooks, you didn't ask me, per se, but I'll mention a few. SHeDAISY's "The Whole SHeBang" and "Fortuneteller's Melody" are worth the listen and investment. There's a great girl-band out of Canada, though I think they've split up, called Farmer's Daughter out of Canada that do some terrific harmonies; I snagged their Greatest Hits CD when I was up in Vancouver on vacation a few years back. The styles are different -- Dixie Chicks always had a healthy hint of bluegrass -- but I think their ability to harmonize are comparable. Otherwise, I could go on and on, but music's always a matter of personal choice, so I hesitate to recommend more b/c I don't know your tastes. For singing & songwriting tastes, though, I'd strongly encourage you to seek out and find some tracks from Ilse DeLange, who has a phenomenal voice. She had one album that was released (via iTunes, I know) in the US but it wasn't her best work. She's got a great raw edge to her vocals, and I think she's from Sweden.
 
December 09, 2010
I love most of what the Dixie Chicks released but this is my all time favorite album of theirs. I think the things that Natalie said were just plain dumb, however, it has nothing to do with their music. I don't understand how people are STILL mad about the comments. I think it's silly. They have GREAT talent and they are missed greatly in country music.
December 09, 2010
Well, I think people have a right to be mad about what the Chicks said, just as you've a right to not be mad. Such is life, really. And I don't necessarily agree that it had nothing to do with their music b/c the girls penned a whole slew of anti-war tracks AFTER Natalie Maines said what she said, and then they continued to join in bashing some country performers (such as Toby Keith) for his pro-war stance at every opportunity. I understand where you're coming from, but the Chicks did it to themselves in that regard, and they've no one else to blame. I would never argue that they don't have talent, b/c I agree that they're very talented ... but there's something to be said for not irritating your audience. I think former frontman for Styx Dennis DeYoung said it best when he said, "Once a performer starts telling you what they think, turn them off." That doesn't mean stop listening to their music, but it does mean performers -- living the life of celebrities -- really ought to be a tad more careful with what they spout off. I also don't agree with your statement that they are greatly missed from country; the country music scene has hardly suffered since the Chicks' jilted departure, and even Maines herself said many times over that she doesn't miss it, that she'd rather be part of the pop/rock/adult contemporary scene. (Again, that's an open 'diss' to their fans.) Natalie's led a fairly privileged life; taking a swipe at the country that gave her access to such a life isn't all that intelligent, if you ask me, but I do understand where you're coming from.
 
December 09, 2010
FYI: They've had several albums since WIDE OPEN SPACES. Once they turned political, however, they lost most of their fanbase.
 
1
What's your opinion on Dixie Chicks: Wide Open Spaces?
rate
5 Ratings: +3.6
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Dixie Chicks: Wide Open Spaces
Details
Label: Sony
Genre: Today's Country
Release Date: January 27, 1998

Related Topics
Garth Brooks: The Ultimate Hits

2007 audio CD release

Kenny Chesney: When The Sun Goes Down

A 2004 audio CD release by Kenny Chesney.

Rascal Flatts: Unstoppable

2009 audio CD release

Dierks Bentley: Feel That Fire

2009 audio CD release

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists