Politics Your Way
A Place to Voice Your Political View

Wiki

The Support Our Law Enforcement and Safe Neighborhoods Act (introduced as Arizona Senate Bill 1070 and thus often referred to simply as Arizona SB 1070) is a legislative act in the U.S. state of Arizona that is the broadest and strictest anti-illegal immigration measure in decades. It has received national and international attention and has spurred considerable controversy.

U.S. federal law requires certain aliens to register with the U.S. government, and to have registration documents in their possession at all times. The Arizona Act additionally makes it a state misdemeanor crime for an alien to be in Arizona without carrying the required documents, bars state or local officials or agencies from restricting enforcement of federal immigration laws, and cracks down on those sheltering, hiring and transporting illegal aliens. The paragraph on intent in the legislation says it embodies an "attrition through enforcement" doctrine.

Critics of the legislation say it encourages racial profiling, while supporters say the law prohibits the use of race as the sole basis for investigating immigration status. The law was modified by Arizona House Bill 2162 within a week of its signing with the goal of addressing some of these concerns. There have been protests in opposition to the law in over 70 U.S. cities, including boycotts and calls for boycotts of Arizona. Polling has found the law to have majority support in Arizona and nationwide. Passage of the measure has prompted other states to consider adopting similar legislation.

The Act was signed into law by Governor Jan Brewer on April 23, 2010. It is scheduled to go into effect on July 29, 2010, ninety days after the end of the legislative session. Legal challenges over its constitutionality and compliance with civil rights law have been filed, including one by the United States Department of Justice that also asked for an injunction against enforcement of the law.
edit this info

Details

Select a category and then fill in some basic details that someone might want to know about this topic.
What's your opinion on Arizona Immigration Law SB1070?
rate
7 Ratings: -0.6
You have exceeded the maximum length.
More Arizona Immigration Law SB1070 reviews
review by . May 04, 2010
Illegal immigration is a problem.  Point taken.  It's been a problem in our country for a very long time.  How do you combat illegal immigratioin?  How do we get it under control?  Well, Arizona found a way.  Permit police officers to stop anyone they suspect of being an illegal alien and force them to show papers.  It's been labeled as by far the strictest immigration bill we've seen.  It should be noted that Arizona has been asking the Federal Government …
review by . May 23, 2010
posted in Public Policy
Will Common Sense Ever Prevail?
Okay.  It is my turn to weigh in on Arizona Senate Bill 1070.  I am tired of cops getting the bum rap as the target of the opposition to Arizona SB 1070.  It seems that cops, whom we trust enough to arm with weapons and to whom we authorize the use of deadly force, are incapable of fairly applying the law.  No, I'm wrong.  It seems cops are racist.  They have nothing better to do than to target illegal aliens, or any other person who "looks" illegal.   …
Quick Tip by . August 02, 2010
posted in Politics Your Way
This is getting annoying because CNN is reporting now that Virginia just said they will be stopping people asking for their papers. I remember a government doing the same thing and they made people wear a six pointed star on their chest. Is our country headed in that direction?
Quick Tip by . September 02, 2010
posted in Politics Your Way
A hateful, unconstitutional law which has brought economic ruin to Arizona due to widespread boycotts. The original authors were connected with Stormfront, the governor has a cozy relationship with the for profit prison industry. It's the usual eyewatering corruption and hate we see from the American right.
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
It seems that Mr. Obama has more sympathy for the illegal residents of Arizona than the actual U.S. citizens and legal residents.
Quick Tip by . April 28, 2010
If the law is a 14th amendment violation, it won't last long. If it's unconstitutional it will be stricken.
Quick Tip by . April 28, 2010
What people don't understand is that due to NAFTA, our subsidized corn was dumped on the Mexican market and put 1000s of farmers out of biz.
Quick Tip by . April 27, 2010
posted in That's Beat
And now they've institutionalized racism. There have been laws in the past that have encouraged racism, but this is even worse. Bad Arizona!
Quick Tip by . April 26, 2010
What a novel idea! A government entity that will actually protect our borders.
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Politics Your Way is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists