Music Matters
A Place for Music Fans!
You have exceeded the maximum length.
There are no questions.
Lunch Average Rating: +4.5 (2 ratings)
Black Clouds & Silver Linings (Special Edition)
About this topic


Special Edition CD includes the full album, a CD of instrumental mixes of the album and a CD of six cover songs. Personnel: James LaBrie (vocals); John Petrucci (guitars); Jordan Rudess (keyboards); John Myung (bass instrument); Mike Portnoy (drums). Dream Theater's tenth long-player is about as dense and challenging as any album in the band's discography and emphasizes not only the virtuoso members' stupefying musicianship, but also their most aggressive and thoroughly metallic songwriting tendencies. The sixteen-minute opener "A Nightmare to Remember" quickly establishes this agenda via frequently thrash-paced staccato riffing, some of John Petrucci's most blistering guitar solos ever, and the return of drummer Mike Portnoy's syncopated growls, which provide contrast for singer James LaBrie's soaring melodic elegance. "The Count of Tuscany" is a heady prog-metal magnum opus brimming with more ideas, notes, and time changes over 19 minutes than most bands bother with over a ten album career. In fact, "W...
Song List: Disc 1
1. Nightmare To Remember, A
2. Rite of Passage, A
3. Wither
4. Shattered Fortress
5. Best of Times
6. Count of Tuscany
Song List: Disc 2
1. Stargazer
2. Tenement Funster/Flick of the Wrist/Lily of the Valley
3. Odyssey
4. Take your Fingers from my Hair
5. Larks' Tongues in Aspic (Part II)
6. cover song #6
Song List: Disc 3
1. Nightmare To Remember [Instrumental], A
2. Rite of Passage [Instrumental], A
3. Wither [Instrumental]
4. Shattered Fortress ...
view wiki


Label: Roadrunner Records (USA)
Artist: Dream Theater
Release Date: June 23, 2009

First to Review
© 2014, LLC All Rights Reserved - Relevant reviews by real people.
Music Matters is part of the Network - Get this on your site
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since