Spirited Discussions
A Lunch Community about Alcoholic Beverages.
Showing 1-1 of 1
#5 of 5 from Scottish Whisky Regions by
Campbeltown Scottish Whisky
Campbeltown Scottish Whisky
About this topic


Campbeltown Single Malts are single malt Scotch whiskies distilled in the burgh of Campbeltown, Scotland, on the Kintyre peninsula. Once a major producer of whisky with as many as 28 distilleries, and claiming the title "whisky capital of the world", the area has since declined.

Only three distilleries continue to produce whisky in Campbeltown: Springbank, Glengyle, and Glen Scotia. The Springbank Distillery, however, produces three distinct whiskies; Springbank, Hazelburn, and Longrow. Glengyle Distillery has only recently been revived and will not see a whisky bottled until around 2014, which will be sold under the name Kilkerran to avoid any confusion with the Highland vatted malt named Glengyle.

Though for some time Campbeltown lost its status as a recognized region, despite its dearth of active distilleries, it has once again been granted "regional status" by the Scotch Whisky Association.

view wiki


Lunch Average Rating: +2.3 (3 ratings)
© 2015 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Spirited Discussions is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since