|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Green Living » Reviews » Carbon Footprint

Carbon Footprint

3 Ratings: 2.7
The total set of greenhouse gas emissions caused by an organization, event or product.

A carbon footprint is "the total set of greenhouse gas  (GHG) emissions caused by an organization, event or product". For simplicity of reporting, it is often expressed in terms of the amount of carbon dioxide, or its equivalent of other … see full wiki

1 review about Carbon Footprint

Find Out Your Carbon Footprint and How to Reduce It

  • Feb 19, 2010
Rating:
+5

Your individual impact, measured in tons of carbon dioxide output, which can be attributed to you is called your carbon footprint.  Reducing this is beneficial to you and the environment.  You'll find many calculators of carbon footprints on the internet. One of the most popular is from The Nature Conservancy. Calculate your carbon footprint by using The Nature Conservancy Carbon Footprint Calculator.  According to this calculator my current carbon footprint is 21 tons of carbon dioxide per year.  The U.S. average is 27 tons per year.  My carbon footprint is better than average, but there is more I can do to reduce it even more.

Once you know your carbon footprint you can look for ways to reduce it. You can put yourself on a carbon diet, which will reduce the impact on climate change by reducing greenhouse gases (most notably CO2) production. Ways to reduce your carbon footprint are as follows (some are easy and some are not so easy):

  • reduce plane travel
  • plant a tree
  • reduce the number of trips in your car; consolidate errands
  • look into cars with better gas mileage or hybrids
  • precycling
  • eat less meat and dairy products
  • use reusable bags when shopping
  • use Energy Star appliances; you can find them here

when you drive, do so responsibly look for the Energy Star logo

avoid overpackaged food programmable thermostat with Energy Star logo


All of the above reduce the amount of greenhouse gases that are created and emitted into the air. This is better for the environment and for every living thing on Earth. Everyone can do something to reduce their carbon footprint.  So what is your carbon footprint?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
30
Thought-Provoking
25
Fun to Read
25
Well-Organized
25
Post a Comment
July 11, 2011
This was a detailed presentation on a most important topic.
 
June 01, 2011
Reduce it? I'm presently looking for socks for my carbon footprint!
 
February 01, 2011
I am at 6.5 tons of CO2 a year, predominantly since I'm on public transportation. I'm starting to get more into Farmer's Markets and buy locally whenever possible. Our condo association just got a compost bin so I'm excited to be able to contribute to that. But, I can't find a reliable way to get rid of junk mail. I had tried one that I found after Googling and it didn't work. Do you have any tips? Thanks!
February 02, 2011
Public transportation, composting and buying locally are all great. I wrote a review on junk mail, specifically on how to get rid of a lot of it. You can find it here: http://lunch.com/t/66li I hope it helps. It helped me.
February 03, 2011
Great! I'll give it a look right now, I've been looking for a useful solution! Thanks :)
 
April 29, 2010
Excellent article, thanks. I especially liked the pre-cycling suggestions. Clay, I tried the link to stop junk mail online and it didn't work. I then 'Googled' dma consumer and got dmachoice. Still no luck--I get an error on the password and can't register. There is also a bad review of dmachoice (http://consumerist.com/2009/09/direct-market...-website-is-a-joke.html) although the Federal Trade Commission refers to them (http://www.ftc.gov/privacy/protect.shtm). If you check the FTC's webpage, it lists several more things you can do to stop junk mail.
 
February 25, 2010
Regardless of where one stands on global warming I have always felt that we should be emphasizing conservation as a matter of public policy. Love your list of suggestions and I make an effort to adhere to many of them. I hate waste of any kind and from where I sit Americans have been frittering away precious energy and resources for decades.
February 26, 2010
I agree. Waste of any kind has become a pet peeve of mine. Reduce, reuse and recycle can't be taught enough. Thanks for the comment.
 
February 24, 2010
GREAT REVIEW, LOOKING AT SCHEMES LIKE SOME OF THE ONES YOU MENTION TO OFFER TO OUR CUSTOMERS AT THE CHECKOUT. if your interested in carbon neutral web hosting then check us out at www.carbonneutralhosting.biz
 
February 23, 2010
All good stuff. And much of it common sense - but common sense doesn't seem to be as common as it should be! My one addition - if possible, use public transport and ride a bicyle. That tends to be a lot easier if you live somewhere urban though. I've lived in London for 12 years and never owned a car. Commute to work, do the shopping with panniers, etc. Gets more complicated when you have kids of course, but it's still another great way to cut down your pollution - and it keeps you fit too. One simple mantra is "reduce-reuse-recycle", in that order. Here's another calculator that calculates how many planets we'd need if everyone lived like you, or me... http://footprint.wwf.org.uk (I can't use that Nature Conservancy one Clay links to as I'm in the UK.)
February 23, 2010
Yep, I did forget public transportation. Thanks for pointing that out. That is another great way to save energy as well as get some exercise. Thanks for the addition of the WWF footprint calculator too.
February 23, 2010
My pleasure. I like the calculator showing planet Earths, as thinking of "8 tons of carbon dioxide" can feel kinda abstract or confusing (8 tons of gas?!) Plus, well, tons, tonnes, long tons, short tons etc - that can confusing too!
 
February 22, 2010
Fabulous review - very informative and easy to comprehend! I'm both curious and slightly scared to check my carbon footprint stats. Thanks for this helpful information, Clay!
February 23, 2010
Thank you very much. I'm sure you'll do fine on the carbon footprint calculator.
 
February 21, 2010
Great suggestions!
 
February 19, 2010
Thanks for sharing this great suggestions, Clay!  I'm doing a few of these things, but I'll be incorporating more of your suggestions into my every day life.  Another really simple one is to unplug "vampire chargers" when not in use, like cellphone chargers, etc.  I'm going to send this review to all of my friends :)
February 20, 2010
You're right. Vampire electronics is a good one as well. They suck energy when plugged in. Unplugging them when not in use is a good habit. Thanks for passing this along.
 
1 2 Next
What's your opinion on Carbon Footprint?
rate
3 Ratings: +2.7
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Details
Related Topics
Earth's Best baby wipes

Moist chlorine-free baby wipes

Drought Tolerant Yard

A yard that is tolerant to drought.

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists