|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Emotions » Reviews » Envy

Envy

1 rating: -5.0
The secondary human emotion that human beings exhibit
1 review about Envy

A Quick Tip by woopak_the_thrill

  • Apr 14, 2011
Envy is very different from jealousy. Jealousy can be healthy, when driven by the right motivation and when channeled with righteousness. Envy is a self-destructive emotion that encourages a HUGE flaw in human behavior. Envy is when someone tries to sabotage another; when someone else seems to get the upper hand or when someone is more liked or more given advantage/supported for obvious reasons. It is curious sometimes, that envy is usually exhibited by those closer to you while most people support and celebrate the other's successes, they (envious people) try to sabotage in the guise of 'helping'. (to make themselves feel better)

Envy is a way for someone with huge insecurities to channel those emotions through their supposed dislike for someone's success. It is really not that they have a problem with the one they envy, but rather they have a problem with themselves. They don't really dislike the person they envy but they actually like them to the point that they end up disliking them. It sure doesn't help them any, when they alienate themselves through their offensive actions. It is sometimes a cry for help, but they would never see it as such unless they themselves admit their envy and seek recovery by self-reflection. They are also very easy to spot, just look around.

 I dislike envy, I don't hate envious people, but envy is one of my pet peeves. It may be something all of us may be guilty of and a victim of from time to time. Just don't let envy be the reason for your actions.

I saw something interesting in wikipedia:
"Envy" and "jealousy" are often used interchangeably, but in correct usage they stand for two different distinct emotions. In proper usage, jealousy is the fear of losing something that one possesses to another person (a loved one in the prototypical form), while envy is the pain or frustration caused by another person having something that one does not have oneself. Envy typically involves two people, and jealousy typically involves three people.. It is possible to be envious at more than one individual at any given time. Usually envy involves wanting the beauty, wealth, or socioeconomic status of another individual. Envy and jealousy result from different situations and are distinct emotional experiences. Both envy and jealousy are etymologically related to schadenfreude, the rejoicing at, or taking joy in, or getting pleasure from the misfortunes of others
Caption
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
12
Post a Comment
April 21, 2011
Jealousy, as I understood it, is more destructive than envy...
April 21, 2011
envy is one of the 7 Deadly Sins, jealousy is not... ;)

I tend to think jealousy as one mostly bred out of emotion (jealousy as in jealous because of a former boyfriend, or on someone you know but would never hurt) of fear of losing, while envy is more on the what the person is; that they see themselves superior though they have low self-esteem; they also want someone's else's fortunes. The envious can also be to more than one person. Not sure, but that is how I look at.
 
April 18, 2011
"Jealousy can be healthy, when driven by the right motivation and when channeled with righteousness", wow WP, well said.
April 21, 2011
Thanks.
 
April 14, 2011
Great quick tip, although I disagree about jealousy being healthy. Leads to more negative and harmful emotions. Very detailed!
April 15, 2011
there's one time that jealousy can be beneficial is when it drives someone to succeed (example: you want your neighbor's car, so you work hard). It also awakens the senses and makes one more aware of his/her partner's changes in habits. Jealousy needs to be treaded on carefully, since there is a thin line between it and envy. As with most emotions, it can be used for both good and bad. Thanks, Adri!
April 15, 2011
Coveting a neighbor's possessions is one of the ten commandments, lol, so I still don't agree. Sometimes wanting too much is a bad thing. Needing something is different, but arbitrary wants are not necessarily good. I'm not sure how it relates to a partner's changes in habits, but I do agree that most emotions can be used for both good and bad reasons. And, it was a pleasure to read this QT!
April 15, 2011
That's a good point. Well, I think jealousy CAN be a tool to drive one to succeed, as long as they don't sabotage anyone in the process (but there is a thin line) and that emotion when used subconciously can be useful. While envy mostly stems from selfishness, jealousy can be birthed from other emotion--such as love and hate, etc..

Yes, almost all emotion can be channeled in both good and bad ways; and there is a very thin line. I think the key is self-refection and to know the limits of each emotion. Knowing yourself is the key, after all how can one supercede their flaws when they deny them? Thanks, Adri, I enjoyed writing this too!
April 15, 2011
Jealousy stems from selfishness and fear, just as negative and destructive as envy. In fact, envy might be the lesser of two evils because it steams purely from selfishness and desire. When you fear something, that fear can control your life and ruin it. Think of all the horrible things that happen in the world because someone fears someone or something else. It's a tragedy. 

I definitely agree with you that the key is "self-reflection." I don't know if we can ever know the limits of each emotion, though. 

Very fun and interesting discussion, William! We be philosophers now. ;)
April 15, 2011
Heh. I am actually doing a lot of musings. I kinda also think of envy as the 'envious' seeing the successful as 'inferior' so when they succeed, it bothers them. I guess both jealousy and envy have very similar things and at the same time, can be so different from each other. Humans are so complex, so our emotions are even more complex with their applications.
April 15, 2011
I like philosophy....I think I've been reading too much on enlightenment.
April 18, 2011
You can never read too much philosophy, imho. :)
April 18, 2011
one of these days I'll do a full write up on this one. :)
April 19, 2011
Sounds good. Remember to send me a link when you do! :D
April 21, 2011
I tend to agree with Adrianna. To me, jealousy is more destructive than envy. It's normally ok for people to say I envy you, never I'm jealous of you. That's the way I understand it :)
April 21, 2011
I looked up something interesting: "Envy" and "jealousy" are often used interchangeably, but in correct usage they stand for two different distinct emotions. In proper usage, jealousy is the fear of losing something that one possesses to another person (a loved one in the prototypical form), while envy is the pain or frustration caused by another person having something that one does not have oneself. Envy typically involves two people, and jealousy typically involves three people. It is possible to be envious at more than one individual at any given time. Usually envy involves wanting the beauty, wealth, or socioeconomic status of another individual. Envy and jealousy result from different situations and are distinct emotional experiences. Both envy and jealousy are etymologically related to schadenfreude, the rejoicing at, or taking joy in, or getting pleasure from the misfortunes of others
April 22, 2011
Nice addition!
 
1
What's your opinion on Envy?
rate
1 rating: -5.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Envy
Details
Related Topics
Smiling

The act of smiling

Being Hyper!

Product/service

RACISM

Human Flaw

Happiness

A state of mind or feeling characterized by contentment, lov

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists