|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Google Reader > Wiki

Wiki

Google Reader is a Web-based aggregator, capable of reading Atom and RSS feeds online or offline. It was released by Google on October 7, 2005 through Google Labs. Reader graduated from beta status on September 17, 2007.

Major revisions to Reader's interface were made on September 28, 2006. In an interview with Robert Scoble, product manager Nick Baum stated that the redesign is a movement toward making news aggregation something for the general public to enjoy. Kevin Fox, the designer of the revised Google Reader, noted that the original version was optimal for those who want to read a "river" of news. The new version took into account that most readers segment their reading by feed, group, tag, folder, or into "must read" and "maybe if I get to it" feeds.

Here are some of the features that are now included within Google Reader:

    * A front page that lets you see new items at a glance
    * Import and export subscription lists as an OPML file
    * Keyboard shortcuts for main functions
    * Choice between list view or expanded view for item viewing (showing either just the story title or with a description, respectively)
    * Automatic marking of items as read as they are scrolled past (expanded view only)
    * Search in all feeds, across all updates from subscriptions[4]
    * An easter egg that allows a special "Ninja!" skin to be accessed if the user inputs the Konami Code.

Users can subscribe to feeds using either Google Reader's search function, or by entering in the exact URL of the RSS or Atom feed. New posts from those feeds are then shown on the left-hand side of the screen. One can then order that list by date or relevance. Items can also be organized with labels, as well as being able to create "Starred Items" for easy access.

Items in Google Reader can be shared with other Web users. Previously this was done by sending a link through e-mail, directing the user to the shared article; or by creating a basic webpage that includes all shared items from a user's account. In December 2007, Google changed the sharing policy so that items the user marked as shared were automatically visible to their Google Talk contacts. Users criticized this change because there is no way to opt out. The URL for a user's page of shared items contains a random string, and Google originally advertised this as a way to limit sharing to only those people to whom you give the address.

Google Reader was the first application to make use of Google Gears, a browser extension that lets online applications work offline. Users who have installed the extension can download up to 2000 items to be read offline. After coming back online, Google Reader updates the feeds.

A mobile interface was released on May 18, 2006. It now can be used by devices that support XHTML or WAP 2.0. On May 12, 2008, Google announced a version of Google Reader targeted at iPhone users. It can be found here.

On May 4, 2006, Google released a new feature which enables feeds from Reader to be displayed on iGoogle (formerly Google Personalized Homepage).

Google Reader is included within Mozilla Firefox's feed recognition (in version 2.0 and higher), which can automatically redirect users to Google Reader's Add Subscription screen.

On May 8, 2007, Google created a version of Google Reader specifically formatted for the Wii web browser. It can be found here.
edit this info

Details

Select a category and then fill in some basic details that someone might want to know about this topic.
What's your opinion on Google Reader?
rate
23 Ratings: +3.8
You have exceeded the maximum length.
More Google Reader reviews
review by . April 13, 2010
List of my folders on Google Reader
I love Google Reader! I have no idea what I'd be able to do without it. It keeps me from visiting the same sites day after day, wondering which of them have new posts, updates and announcements. I've got everything in one place, kind of like an e-mail inbox, and I subscribe to my favorite blogs and sites and stay updated throughout the day.       I've used Google Reader for a while now, and I haven't been able to use anything else. I highly recommend it to anybody who browses …
review by . May 17, 2010
Google reader is my absolute favorite tool to read the web. I'm a former bloglines user but found that their categorization wasn't quite what I was looking for in a blogreader. Google reader is easy, shareable, inspirational and it lets you browse through your rss feeds in a very usable design - and fast
Photos
Google Reader
Related Topics
Flickr

A photosharing website

logo

Networking website

Twitter

A micro-blogging website.

First to Review
Polls
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists