|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

J.D. Salinger > Wiki

Wiki

Jerome David "J. D." Salinger (January 1, 1919 – January 27, 2010) was an American author, best known for his 1951 novel The Catcher in the Rye, as well as his reclusive nature. His last original published work was in 1965; he gave his last interview in 1980.

Raised in Manhattan, Salinger began writing short stories while in secondary school, and published several stories in the early 1940s before serving in World War II. In 1948 he published the critically acclaimed story "A Perfect Day for Bananafish" in The New Yorker magazine, which became home to much of his subsequent work. In 1951 Salinger released his novel The Catcher in the Rye, an immediate popular success. His depiction of adolescent alienation and loss of innocence in the protagonist Holden Caulfield was influential, especially among adolescent readers. The novel remains widely read and controversial, selling around 250,000 copies a year.

The success of The Catcher in the Rye led to public attention and scrutiny: Salinger became reclusive, publishing new work less frequently. He followed Catcher with a short story collection, Nine Stories (1953), a collection of a novella and a short story, Franny and Zooey (1961), and a collection of two novellas, Raise High the Roof Beam, Carpenters and Seymour: An Introduction (1963). His last published work, a novella entitled "Hapworth 16, 1924," appeared in The New Yorker on June 19, 1965.

Afterward, Salinger struggled with unwanted attention, including a legal battle in the 1980s with biographer Ian Hamilton and the release in the late 1990s of memoirs written by two people close to him: Joyce Maynard, an ex-lover; and Margaret Salinger, his daughter. In 1996, a small publisher announced a deal with Salinger to publish "Hapworth 16, 1924" in book form, but amid the ensuing publicity, the release was indefinitely delayed. He made headlines around the globe in June 2009, after filing a lawsuit against another writer for copyright infringement resulting from that writer's use of one of Salinger's characters from Catcher in the Rye.

Salinger died of natural causes on January 27, 2010 at his home in Cornish, New Hampshire.

Books:

The Catcher in the Rye (1951)
Nine Stories (1953)
    -"A Perfect Day for Bananafish" (1948)
    -"Uncle Wiggily in Connecticut" (1948)
    -"Just Before the War with the Eskimos" (1948)
    -"The Laughing Man" (1949)
    -"Down at the Dinghy" (1949)
    -"For Esmé with Love and Squalor" (1950)
    -"Pretty Mouth and Green My Eyes" (1951)
    -"De Daumier-Smith's Blue Period" (1952)
    -"Teddy" (1953)
Franny and Zooey (1961)
Raise High the Roof Beam, Carpenters and Seymour: An Introduction (1963)
    -"Raise High the Roof-Beam, Carpenters" (1955)
    -"Seymour: An Introduction" (1959)
edit this info

Tags

Writers, Authors, Jd Salinger, Catcher In The Rye

Details

Select a category and then fill in some basic details that someone might want to know about this topic.
What's your opinion on J.D. Salinger?
rate
28 Ratings: +3.1
You have exceeded the maximum length.
More J.D. Salinger reviews
review by . January 31, 2010
"Anyway, I keep picturing all these little kids playing some game in this big field of rye and all. Thousands of little kids, and nobody's around — nobody big, I mean — except me. And I'm standing on the edge of some crazy cliff. What I have to do, I have to catch everybody if they start to go over the cliff — I mean if they're running and they don't look where they're going I have to come out from somewhere and catch them. That's all I'd do all day. I'd just be the catcher …
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Boy do I love Salinger.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
great author
Quick Tip by . January 28, 2010
R.I.P. J.D. Salinger. Thank you for all your great contributions to the literary world.
review by . December 05, 2008
J
The Cather in the Rye is perfectly fine. A great book, actually -- pretty spectacular. However, my love for Salinger stems from one thing and it's the Glass family, the remarkably dysfunctional and quirky family that is the center of much of Salinger's work. In fact, it's said that one of these fictional characters, "Buddy" is actually the author of Cather in the Rye.    New to the Glass Family works? Start with Franny and Zooey. It's  a short, fun read that will seem shockingly …
Photos
j.d
Related Topics
Stephen King

A horror author

Jk Rowling

Popular and acclaimed British author of the Harry Potter nov

anthony bourdain

Chef, Author, and TV Host

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists