|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Anime » Reviews » Limebarb.com

Limebarb.com

2 Ratings: -0.5
A custom costume and clothing company

Limebarb.com is a small custom costume and fashion company, owned and opporated by Barb Staples. They are located in Chicago, Illinois. http://www.limebarb.com

Tags: Anime, Costumes, Cosplay, Costume Commissioners
1 review about Limebarb.com

High-quality work but expensive

  • Nov 22, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+4

I commissioned a Lulu costume from "Final Fantasy X" from Limebarb. My order included the dress, corset, wig, and hair accessories. I paid for my order for a Lulu costume  on July 18, 2008. The next available deadline for Limebarb to deliver my costume was October 25, 2008.

Barbara from Limebarb had excellent communication before and after I placed my order. I had some questions on the construction on certain details of the costume, such as the floral design along the edges of the dress and the materials she would be using, and she was very responsive in answering my questions and working with my special requests. I specifically requested that the costume be made of pleather, the edges of the floral design be embroidered, and the corset be as real as possible. I also originally wanted metal belt buckles for the front of the dress but she advised me that this would make the dress very heavy. I trusted her professional opinion and appreciated her feedback.

I received the wig and hair accessories on October 31st and the actual costume on November 3rd so everything was delivered a little more than a week after the deadline. Luckily, I didn't need the costume by any particular date. I wouldn't recommend having a deadline really close to when you need the costume because I've heard from others that she is often late delivering costumes. I would recommend at least a month before you need it.

Some of the buckles on the dress were coming off when I got the costume. It was pretty easy gluing them back together. The dress was a little big around the waist but that was hidden underneath the corset anyway. The cord that she included for the corset was not long enough to tie it up so I had to buy an additional cord on my own. The bangs for the wig were a little short and pushed back for Lulu. I plan to improve it before I wear the costume again. But that's pretty much the end of my complaints.

Overall, the costume, wig, and hair accessories were spot on. The quality of construction was top notch. I wore the costume to the Wizard World Texas comic book convention and I got a ton of compliments, including several "You are the best Lulu I've ever seen!". Surprisingly, this costume was a lot more comfortable than I expected also.

Limebarb's services are expensive. My costume was $890, not including an additional $35 for shipping. But it was well worth it. The quality of their work is amazing. However, knowing how expensive they are, I would only use them for complicated or extremely difficult costumes. You can definitely use less expensive commissioners for simpler costumes.

Lulu costume by Limebarb Lulu costume by Limebarb Lulu costume by Limebarb

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
43
Thought-Provoking
7
Fun to Read
14
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
November 03, 2009
Wow, I don't know a thing about Final Fantasy, but this costume RULES.
November 03, 2009
Thanks!!!
 
April 03, 2009
Hmm. Sounds like a lot of extra work that had to go into your costume after you received it late. I would've probably been a lot harsher in my review. :-) If you're in to cosplay, try the folks at http://www.cosplaymagic.com/ . I ordered an Aizen Sousuke (Bleach) costume from them, and it was delivered quickly and the material was excellent. ... They also do commission work, and I would bet they're less expensive. Otherwise, you look great in the costume. Good work!
April 03, 2009
Thanks for the tip! You need to write a review on them so mine isn't the only cosplay commissioner review!! ;)
April 03, 2009
Will do. I'm new to Lunch, so I'm still in the phase where I'm thinking about what to review. I'll do CosPlayMagic.com next. :-)
 
April 01, 2009
I wonder how much she charges for hippie wear! That is an awesome costume -for that price tag it darn sure better be:) Good Review
 
January 11, 2009
Looks fantastic! Great review too.
 
December 15, 2008
Wow, that's an awesome costume!
 
1
What's your opinion on Limebarb.com?
rate
2 Ratings: -0.5
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Limebarb web site
Details
Related Topics
CosplayMagic.com

CosplayMagic offers costumes in men's, women's and children'

Cosworx

Cosplay shop selling wigs, shoes, and accessories

Leg Avenue

An American lingerie brand.

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists