|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Pets » Reviews » My Legendary Cat

My Legendary Cat

2 Ratings: 2.0
My cat Twiggy the mighty hunter

add a wiki

Tags: Pets, Hunting, Cats, Vermin
1 review about My Legendary Cat

Nothing Was Safe When My Cat Roamed the Night

  • May 11, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Our Legendary Cat Twiggy was famous throughout the neighborhood for her extraordinary hunting abilities. She caught mice and rats in truly terrifying numbers. She apparently liked to bring them home and deliver the coup de grace on our front porch and then line them up in a nice little row.   It was from her that I learned that rat brains are apparently a great feline delicacy since none of them ever had there heads and yet no other part of there bodies was ever touched. She liked to hunt snakes too and we'd frequently find them on the porch as well. Usually they were just black  or garter snakes but on different occasions I found one coral snake and 2 pygmy rattlers. I compared the coral snake to a picture in the encyclopedia just to make sure it wasn't a king snake, and it was a coral snake alright. On another one of her forays into the night she came home with a bat! After that episode I made doubly certain that she was always up to date on her rabies vaccinations.

Yeah, Twiggy was a tough old bird for sure. And speaking of birds, we just couldn't keep her away from them. Even though we tempted her with ever kind of cat food known to mankind (or catkind for that matter), even though we dangled chicken and turkey from the deli and roast beef from our own plates in front of her she could not be dissuaded from hunting and eating birds. She didn't let them go to waste, she always ate them. Her other great culinary treats were junk food. She loved popcorn, potato chips, peanuts (cats can't chew peanuts but that didn't bother Twiggy she ate them anyhow )along with green olives, cheese, mashed potatoes, watermelon, and spaghetti but only if it didn't have any sauce on it. She'd eat spaghetti like a little kid would, pick up one end and the just suck it up into her mouth--it was hilarious to watch. But back to the birds for a moment. We tried to stop her from getting at them, we honestly did our best. At one point she had a collar with no less than three bells attached to it, but Twiggy was nothing if not patient and by the time those birds heard her it was too late.

She hadn't always had the luxury of being able to be patient and bide her time. When she came to us she was a pitiful stray, a tuxedo cat who didn't even weigh 5 pounds and yet looked as if she was going to pop out a littler of kittens at any moment. My best guess was that she had probably been making a comfortable living at the old drive-in theater until it had shut down. There would have been lots of junk food to eat and lots of rodents as well, but then it all went south for her and she found herself pregnant and desperate for food and desperation makes  poor hunters. So we fed her and I took her to the vet the next day. We didn't have a cat carrier but she behaved like a perfect lady, thank God, I was expecting that I was going to be shredded by the time I got to the end of the drive way. Any normal cat would have come unglued in a car, let alone a stray cat, but I guess she knew what side her bread was buttered on. (She also liked to eat that by the way.) She was in perfect health with only a mild case of hookworm and she purred so loudly through the exam that the vet gave up on listening to her heart.

Sure enough, less than one week later she presented us with 7 kittens and 1 stillborn. With a few meals under her bulging belt she had already started earning her reputation as a hunter and so finding homes for her off-spring was no problem at all, everybody wanted one of her kittens even though we warned them that Twigs hadn't bothered to teach them how to hunt.

There was more to Twiggy that hunting though. She was an incredibly clean cat who looked at the litter box she was forced to share with 4 other cats with absolute disdain. She would have literally preferred to explode rather than use one, and this did seem as if it might become a problem as she became a bit older and she liked spending more nights at home and less time terrorizing innocent fauna. (She'd taken to bringing home rabbits and possums in her old age so we were glad she was hanging around inside more even though we feared for the carpet. Then one day I happened to see Twigs coming out of my mother's bathroom where she had apparently been while my mother was taking a shower.  Twiggy paused in the doorway and  then went back and looked in the shower.  At the time I thought she was going to try and get a drink.  A few days later I understood the reason Twiggy had gone back to look at the shower when I saw her in the  bathroom standing directly over the drain and peeing! She had been watching the water going down the drain! Like I said, she was a very clean cat as well as a very smart one and she loved the idea that the urine would just go away. I'm positive that if we had known it was possible at the time, that Twiggy would have been one of those cats who could have been taught to crap on the toilet. She undoubtedly would have flushed too.

Twiggy was with us for over 13 years and was the healthiest cat we ever had. I chalk it up to her diet of junk food and birds, but sadly it was that same diet that led to her death.

As I said earlier everyone loved Twiggy when they saw the frightening number of rodents she managed to turn up in our neighborhood. Gradually she had to go further and further from home to hunt and then the rodents would move back in and someone would knock on the door and ask if they could borrow her. I'd pick her up off the couch and carry her over to the utility shed in question and put her down in front of the rat hole in question where upon Twiggy would invariable cower in terror and run back home. Both the neighbor and I would look at each other, shrug, and go back home. But within five minutes if that neighbor looked out his window he'd see Twiggy lurking behind a bush in his backyard, not even  waiting for night to fall.

So how did she die? Everybody loved her except one old man and he hated her because she killed birds. One time he swerved his car seven feet onto our front lawn trying to run her over and instead almost got my four year old daughter whom he couldn't see because he was too intent on the cat. Several years later Twigs was gone for well over a month and we assumed the worst, but one day she showed up with a huge scab on her side. It must have been at least 5x4". I took her immediately to the vet and he confirmed what I already knew, that she had been hit by a car and that the scab was the result of her skin being torn off as she skidded on the road.  It's called road rash. The vet was amazed that she hadn't become infected and died. Most cats would have died, either from shock or from the infection. But Twiggy was a most unusual cat. The vet also found at least 10 BB pellets in her. The truth is that I can't say for certain how she died. We had her for another 2 years after that incident. I can only say that one day she never came home again and that a certain old man seemed very pleased with himself.

One thing is for certain and that is I'll never have another outdoor cat , there are just too many dangers out there. With Twiggy though it was never an option. She just couldn't be contained, she was born to be a hunter no matter how hard we tried.

 
Nothing Was Safe When My Cat Roamed the Night

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
13
Post a Comment
September 12, 2010
Hysterical story!! But I have to say I agree with Sniffcode on the old man's revenge; nasty creepy man...Twiggy sounds like a one-of-a-kind cat and so glad you wrote the review!
September 14, 2010
He was horrible. Twiggs was a great cat though. You'd have loved her.
 
April 16, 2010
AW! The cutest review ever! I thought about writing one on my cats too. Twiggy sounds amazing!
April 16, 2010
Please do! I was hoping that other people would follow but as far as I know no one has.
April 16, 2010
lol, I'll see what I can do. I doubt my legendary cat story will be as amazing as yours, and I would need a data point that said "legendary cats," plural. I couldn't choose between a brother and sister! This one will be one to write when I'm feeling playful!
April 16, 2010
I certainly hope it's soon. I'm dying to read it. What are the best cat name's you've ever heard? Cat Fancy held a contest for their readers and of course there were tons of Garfields and black cats named Snowball, but the winner was a kitten named Evinrude...like the outboard motor. Cute huh? Told me everything I needed to know about his purring capabilities.
April 17, 2010
lol!! Maybe I can post something up sooner rather than later. I have to find all my cat photos, though. Hm. I don't know about the cat names. I'm pretty biased about my own cats' names. ;) I do like the ones you listed here. I never knew that Cat Fancy had a contest about it. Cute idea though!
April 17, 2010
I had a little long haired tortie once named Hari Verderci. I named her that because the day we brought her home there was bad joke on tv about a man who thought his wife had an Italian lover by that name.
April 18, 2010
Aw, that is a cute name! I love the story behind it. Very unique :)
April 18, 2010
I think almost every cat name has some kind of story behind it. When I worked at the post office we liked to check out the post cards vets sent out as vaccination reminders, we used them to play a game I called "Name That Species." People tended to give their dogs and their kids the same names but cat people didn't.
April 19, 2010
LOL! Interesting fact!
April 19, 2010
Silly, but it seems to be true. Cody is very popular for boys, girls, and dogs of both sexes.  =)
 
July 27, 2009
I've had 2 Legendary Cats. The other was Fang. It would take a book to tell about him. Birds landed between his paws--they learned that he could care less but it would have been too much effort for him so he didn't. And yet dogs and other toms knew to show him respect. The old man is long gone. I hope that when he faced the wrath of God Twiggy was sitting on God's lap smirking at that old bastard and enjoying watching justice being meted out.
 
July 27, 2009
Is that old man still alive? I hope so because I'm going to book a flight and run his hobblin' ass over. And because I never do a job unless I'm going to do it right, I'll be sure to put my car in reverse and back up over his ass. Then I'm going to spray the roadkill with catnip so that all strays will have a party over his body. Okay...now that i"ve gotten that out of my system... My last cat was a fatty named Belle. She was the exact OPPOSITE of Twiggy. Belle was so docile, you couldn't possibly believe it. The veterinarian once commented that "I don't think Belle would even bite a flea." She was so incredibly gentle. Even when she licked me, she seemed to do it very gently. She must have known that her sandpaper tongue was killing me after the first few licks ;-) Anyway, this was a great story and brought a smile to my face. I am so much the cat lover. I was recently in Toronto and came across a t-shirt that has a cat silkscreen design. It cost $42, but I had to have it. I wear it right now, as I type this.
April 16, 2010
How did I miss your reply? I love your plan for revenge. The old guy died a long, long time ago. In his sleep of natural cause unfortunately--although I prefer to think that some cat got in his bedroom and slept of his face.
 
May 19, 2009
My family had a female barn cat that we inherited from our home's previous owners. Deryll was a great hunter & was extremely friendly. She was an elegant little gray tabby with the most beautiful blueish-green eyes. One night, I had my bedroom window open just a few inches because I couldn't find the screen. Deryll, out on the prowl, decided to hop inside. She cuddled up on the bed with me, which I didn't have a problem with. She stayed for a while then left. Sometime later, I woke up to a crunching sound...there she was with a dead mouse, chowing down right there on my pillow. I kicked her out, after that.
May 20, 2009
That's funny. Twiggy never ate mice either, except for the heads.
May 20, 2009
Ha! Another funny thing about Deryll, she would always leave little "presents" in my dad's tractor seat...usually barn swallows. I don't know how she did it but she'd climb up into the rafters & snatch those birds out of the air.
May 20, 2009
I never saw Twiggy in action. I only saw the aftermath--feathers and maybe a beak. We didn't mind as much when she got the Blue Jays that took up nesting in the tree in out front yard. Those things were nasty and dive bombed us every time we came out of the house.
 
May 13, 2009
Sorry to hear about her death... I miss my cat. I had a Burmese and she was great.
May 13, 2009
Do Burmese talk as much as the Siamese do? Whenever you go to a cat show you can instantly tell where the Siamese are.
 
May 13, 2009
Sorry, I have to disagree. There are far too many dangers out there for cats to roam free. In Florida Hit the Cat With Your Pick-Up is a recognized sport, coyotes are a real danger almost everywhere now. I saw 3 of them last summer just lounging around on the sidewalk half a black from my daughter's house on a very heavily travelled street in the middle of suburbia in broad daylight. At night I hear a pack of 4 or 5 howling in the small field behind me whenever they catch something. Worst of all there's the danger posed by over zealous people who don't care what they put on their lawns. The condo association here put down some sort of insecticide that killed the 4 strays I'd been feeding. That's just for starters. Living free is for Lions and tigers. House cats are just that, house cats. If they've never been outside they are perfectly happy inside.
 
May 12, 2009
Wow, you wrote a review on your pet cat. Hmmm... it never would have occurred to me to do that, but it's rather clever since no one else can really do a review of him. Did you ever try feeding her tofu instead of canned meat?
May 12, 2009
It might have appealed to her but I doubt it. She was a junk food junkie--and the healthiest cat we ever had. As for writing about her--it started as a reply to two sentences someone else had written and then I realized how long it was getting. I though it would help me get out of my writer's inertia. She didn't like fish either. My brother caught one and tried to serve it up to her fresh and all she did was suck out the eyeballs.
May 12, 2009
Eeeewwww! You're not helping my nausea.
May 12, 2009
lol=)
 
May 11, 2009
I love the story of Twiggy - she was one tough cookie and enjoyed quite the life. I have two indoor cats at home and I'll keep it like that forever - with grouchy neighbors, cars and all the other dangers that come along with the outdoors, I would be way too paranoid to let them roam free. I'm lucky to have a large gated patio where they can hang to get their outdoor fix, but that's the farthest they go :) Were you able to keep any of the kittens to keep Twigs legacy going? Since you love the little fur balls, I think you'll enjoy this review on the book Dewey: The Small-town Library cat
May 11, 2009
We did keep keep one. My mother named her Serena and she too became an outdoor cat. Twiggy never liked her very much. Serena was a bit of an oddball. She loved to eat and she'd go from house to house in the neighborhood where everyone would fawn over her because she was one of Twiggy's kittens. They'd all give her something to eat. She got very fat and lived to a ripe old age. I've already read the review you mentioned. It started me thinking about writing something about my 2 Legendary Cats. A Legendary Cat is one that you always find yourself telling stories about no matter how many cats you may have had in your life. They may not even have been your favorite cat, they are simply the most memorable. The real standout was Fang. You could almost write a book about him. In fact my daughter wants to do actually do that one day.
 
1
What's your opinion on My Legendary Cat?
rate
2 Ratings: +2.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
My Legendary Cat
Details
Related Topics
Ragdoll Cat

Breed of cat

Adopt Me Puppy

Homeless, lost or abandoned animals in Shelters - October is

Maine Coon

Domestic cat breed native to the US state of Maine.

Drinkwell Platinum

A pet fountain featuring a free-falling stream of water

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists