|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Nike+ iPod > Wiki

Wiki

The Nike+iPod Sports Kit is a device which measures and records the distance and pace of a walk or run. The Nike+iPod consists of a small accelerometer attached to or embedded in a shoe, which communicates with either the Nike+ Sportband, a receiver plugged into an iPod Nano, or directly with an iPod Touch 2nd Generation or iPhone 3GS. If using the iPod or the iPhone 3GS, iTunes software can be used to view the walk or run history.

The sensor and iPod kit was revealed on May 20, 2006. The kit is able to store information such as the elapsed time of the workout, the distance traveled, pace, or calories burned by the individual wearing the shoes, and display it on the screen or broadcast it through the headphones of an iPod

The sensor and Sportband kit was announced in April 2008. The kit allows users to store run information without the iPod Nano. The Sportband consists of two parts: a rubber holding strap which is worn around the wrist, and the receiver which resembles a USB key-disk. The receiver displays information comparable to that of the iPod kit on the built-in display. After a run, the receiver can be plugged straight into a USB port and the software will upload the run information automatically to the Nike+ website.

As of August 2008 "Nike+iPod for the Gym" launched, allowing users to record their cardio workouts directly to their iPods. No Sport kit or shoe sensor is required; all that is needed is a compatible iPod (3rd–4th generation iPod Nano or 2nd/3rd gen iPod Touch) and an enabled piece of cardio equipment. As of March 2009, the seven largest commercial equipment providers were shipping enabled equipment (Life Fitness, Technogym, Precor, Star Trac, Cybex, Matrix and FreeMotion). The models of compatible cardio equipment include treadmills, Stationary Bikes, stair climbers, ellipticals, and others such as Precor's Adaptive Motion Trainer (AMT). Once the user syncs an iPod with iTunes, the cardio workouts are automatically stored at Nikeplus.com, where each workout is visualized and tracked based on the number of calories burned. The calories are converted to "CardioMiles", at a ratio of 100:1, allowing cardio users to take full advantage of all the tools and features of Nikeplus.com, and allow them to engage in challenges with other runners, walkers and cardio users, using a common currency.

As of September 9, 2008, Apple Inc. included built-in Nike+ capabilities in the second-generation iPod Touch, eliminating the need for an external receiver to be connected.

On June 8, 2009, Apple Inc. announced the iPhone 3GS, a successor to the iPhone 3G, that also included built-in Nike+ capabilities.
edit this info

Details

Select a category and then fill in some basic details that someone might want to know about this topic.
What's your opinion on Nike+ iPod?
rate
6 Ratings: +4.2
You have exceeded the maximum length.
More Nike+ iPod reviews
review by . February 16, 2009
If you like to run on the treadmill because it records your mileage for you, but you get very bored of running in the same place for a long period of time, the Nike+ is right for you!   What is it? The Nike Plus is a device that you place in your shoe (a compatible shoe), with a small insert you connect into your ipod that records the statistics for your workout while you run outdoors. It records workout time, calories burned, total mileage, and mile pace.   The Set-up: You record …
review by . January 19, 2010
I am on my third chip.  I run with it everytime I run, with or without music.  I LOVE the challenges. The new and improved Nike + website is great too!  I highly recommend the Nike+ system to any runner! 
review by . March 13, 2009
Nike+ sensor
So I have this issue where I love to workout, but only if I know exactly how many calories I'm burning and how far I'm going when I do it. For instance after the calorie/distance thing broke on my elliptical I completely stopped using it, although it is still a completely functional piece of exercise equipment.    The Nike+ shoes take care of my "need to know" as far as runnig in concerned. There is a tiny sensor in the shoes, and then another attachment I put on my iPod Nano. …
Related Topics
USA Spec iPod Interface

An ipod/iphone car adapter

White Universal 12 Volt USB Car Charger for Apple

All Electronics

iPhone

second generation iPhone made by Apple

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists