|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Precious Kittens

Precious Kittens

1 rating: 5.0
self made movie
1 review about Precious Kittens

My First Self-Made Movie - Precious Kittens

  • May 26, 2011
Rating:
+5
I LOVE kittens and cats; though I love all animals, cats leave a special warm place in my heart.  A person has to earn a cat's love, they're full of their own brand of personality, and there's nothing cozier than watching a cat curl up and snooze in the strangest of places.

My precious cat Peanut, who I had for 6 years and who was my soul mate (she knew  me and my moods better than any human I know), had to be taken to the Humane Society when we moved and I have not forgiven myself since - it's been 6 months and that is one thing I'll never get over.  I felt that I broke our mutual trust and was one of the hardest decisions I ever had to make.  I still can not bear to look at photos of her..I miss her terribly.

I found some adorable kitten pictures and decided to use my Windows Movie Maker for the first time on my new computer; I thought it turned out nice for my first one!!  It plays with Enya's "Only Time" - I hope you enjoy it, I hope you appreciate the love that only an animal can give, and I dedicate this to my Peanut.

                                               
My First Self-Made Movie - Precious Kittens My First Self-Made Movie - Precious Kittens

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
August 26, 2011
Take some comfort in the fact that there are those of us who will not even look at the kittens (because we'd want to walk out with every one of them) when we go to shelters. From now on I'll only be adopting adult cats. I'm getting to an age where a healthy cat might very well out live me, so it makes more sense to adopt an adult who for whatever reason has no home. Someone will take Peanut home and love him every bit as much as you do. The last adult I adopted obviously had a medical problem. He was 10 years old and was a bag of bones. It turned out he had 3 medical problems. The last one was a stroke. But he lived with me and my other cat Fred happily for a year. Fred wasn't happy, but the adoptee whom I named Bapu was very happy.
August 26, 2011
I see your point; some people want kittens only cuz they're cute, forgetting they grow into adult cats when they lose their "baby" appeal, which is sad. I wish more people would think outside the box, like you, and consider a cat to adopt. I think another reason some don't adopt cats so easily is because a cat has developed his own personality at that stage, and some people can't cope with that if the cat isn't "perfect" - again, sad stuff. When I move again to a place where I am allowed another pet besides my little dog, I want to adopt a cat and wouldn't mind a kitten too LOL - our dog Raven really misses Peanut as well; they played hide and seek constantly chasing each other thru the house. If I had to scold Raven for any reason, Peanut would go up to her and smack her in the head with her paw (no claws though) as if to scold her as well - it was always too comical. It's been almost a year and I still can't look at pictures of my Peanut; it's horrible and so funny how an animal's love can affect us. Thank you for your comforting words; it's very much appreciated.
August 26, 2011
I know how you must feel. I was the official executioner in our family. Whenever it was time to euthanize I cat, I was the one who was given the job. I still cry when I think of each cat I took trustingly to its death. Even knowing how terribly sick they were and that it truly was the best thing for them doesn't always help.
August 27, 2011
I've never had to do that thank goodness, but I see what you mean--they trust you and only you know about the cat's demise. I'm sure it should be comforting to know though that you being there with them as they sleep is comforting to them even if you don't realize it, especially if they were sick; you were able to put your own feelings aside and put them to peace.
August 31, 2011
A littl. And it is about the best way to go.
August 31, 2011
Yes--that's how I wanna go LOL It is rough though no matter what or how----an animal is a best friend no matter what. If people could be like a pet the world would be a peaceful place.
August 31, 2011
How true. They always tell you the truth. I remember watching this one human interest segment on the national news decades ago. It was about a guy who trying to train "attack cats" He wanted to give a demonstration for the camera but the cat just wouldn't co-operate, so he slapped him on the head once and when the cat still wouldn't do it he hit him on the head again--so the cat turned around and bit HIM. Cats are just too logical to ever be attack animals.  LOL
September 01, 2011
HA--good for the cat!! Peanut didn't like it when I raised my voice---didn't matter where I was, sitting, standing, whatever; but every time she would put her little furry mouth very gently on my mouth as if to say "ssshhhhhh" it was too cute. She did attack me one time but I couldn't blamer her. I had broken my foot and was a complete clutz on the crutches and I kept falling and I was a real bitch for a couple of days.....finally I had enough and I started screaming at something (can't remember what) and she had enough of the bitchiness and went behind me and scratched me in the face. I didn't get mad though (it hurt like hell though LOL) cuz I knew why she did it; she was just as stressed as I was! Later she came up to me and licked my face where the scratches were, bless her heart and that was the only time she did anything like that. You better believe I calmed down after that; I figure if I got her that upset, I needed to chill!!!!! People seem to always want, expect or need something from us, but pets don't - they need food and water but only want love and attention and the loyalty you get back for that is undeniable, but people can be damned ungrateful no matter what you do!
September 02, 2011
My much loved Minya (a Persian) was terrified of sneezing. In fact she was terrified of the WORD sneeze. She was the ultimate lap cat and never wanted to get off. I could be half way standing up and she would be still in my lap. But if I were to sneeze or so much as say "Uh oh, I think I'm going to..." she'd be off my lap and under my bed before your eyes could register her movement. She was so sweet. Out of all the cats I ever had she was my very favorite.
September 03, 2011
Awww how cute is that!!! Persians are beautiful for sure and she sounds like the ultimate pet--you gotta love a lap cat!!!
September 05, 2011
They are the sweetest cats in the world--not necessarily the brightest, but definitely the sweetest. Minya contracted Feline Leukemia from exposure to one of my brother's cats when she was about 6 months old ( which was a good thing because any younger and it would have bee fatal for sure) and as a result we made an awful lot of trips to the vet. She loved riding in the car but she didn't like going to the vet all that much, but since Persians aren't that smart, she never realized that a ride in the car meant a trip to the vet. I felt so guilty that I started taking her on pleasure rides after a while. It was so cute. She's cling onto my chest and look out the windows and she'd get very excited and bob her head when she'd recognize things and know that we were almost home. I'd take her back into the apartment complex different ways to surprise her, but she would still know. Maybe Persians aren't as dumb as they they seem to be.
September 05, 2011
Awwwww-bless her heart; what a touching story. I've never known a cat who enjoyed car rides and so sweet of you to take her on pleasure trips! I could care less myself how bright a cat is, as long as it's loveable LOL but it sounds like she was NOT dumb for sure! It's a shame she had to take so many trips to the vet, poor thing. I am loving these stories by the way...!!!
September 05, 2011
This was way back when Fe Leuk was a new thing. My vets had never seen a cat go negative after contracting the disease but Minya did. They ran periodic blood tests on her to see how she was doing, and when she was about 6 years old she suddenly tested negative for FeLeuk! They were astounded and retested her for free with the same result. Of course she still had the disease but her blood showed no signs of it. I loved my vets, leaving them was one of the sad parts about moving north. At one point I had a tab of over $5000 dollars with them run up on 3 Persians; Minya (an only cat because of the FeLeuk), Raimi, and Mouse who I got 6 months after Minya had to be euthanized--she ultimately developed mammary tumors at the age of 13, which is a fairly good age for Persians I've since been told. Glad you're enjoying the stories. I like to talk about my babies.
September 06, 2011
Wow--13 years old is a long time to live with a disease and it sounds like you had some good vets for sure. I don't know of any around here who would let ya run up a tab! Minya was lucky to have an owner who loved her the way you did; she had a long life and even got to enjoy car rides!! Even though she tested negative, did she feel sick the poor thing? I hope not.
September 08, 2011
She was fairly healthy considering what she had. My vets worked with me by not forcing me to pay for an office visit every time she had a flair up. If it was just her normal problem (intestinal, and diarrhea with a Persian is no fun ;-) , trust me) they'd just hand me a prescription. Of course if it was something new I'd have to bring her in. She was mostly happy, although she did get lonely because of the amount of overtime I had to work. She was a very social girl and I could never get another cat to keep her company when I was gone because Fe Leuk is highly contagious.
September 09, 2011
I can imagine the mess of a long haired cat with diarrhea--poor thing. I bet she was really glad to see you come home after you working long hours; bless her heart!! It's good though that your vets were so accommodating; I know that meant lots to you.
September 09, 2011
Bloody diarrhea. =(
September 09, 2011
oooooo-that's horrible--poor kitty and poor you....there should be a law against a pet getting so sick - they're too innocent...
September 20, 2011
When I was little I wanted to be a vet...until I realized I couldn't save every animal.
September 21, 2011
Me too, but now it would kill me to see one that couldn't be saved; I'd go home depressed for sure!!
October 03, 2011
Have you seen America's Cutest Cats? It's a one shot show that's been running sporadically on Animal Planet. They have different CATegories and then they picked an over-all winner for 2010. I'll spoil the surprise; it was Attila, the surprised kitten. What a great name for such a sweet little boy.
October 16, 2011
Unfortunately I can't get Animal Planet on Dish with the regular package (Uuughh) but I would LOVE to see this show! Thanks for the tip just in case I get around to upgrading my package! Thanks QueenB!!
 
June 17, 2011
I am sorry to hear about your precious Peanut. We have two cats, and they are our babies. I love them more than words could express, and when we almost lost our boy cat, Dr. Claws, I was devastated. I'm so glad we fought for him and found a vet that could help heal him.

I think this is a wonderful tribute to Peanut, and it's beautifully put together. The music and images are just lovely. Great job, Brenda!
June 19, 2011
Aww..thanks Adri!! Isn't is great that animals are such a wonderful part of our lives? I miss Peanut sooo much I can't stand it....they are family for sure and bring joy to our hearts. I'm glad you found someone who could heal Dr. Claws!! Thanks Adri....Hugs
June 28, 2011
I agree. I'm so sorry that you miss Peanut, but I'm sure Peanut's bringing joy to others. And yes, I am too! I need to write a review on that business for them. They are wonderful healers! *hugs back*
 
May 26, 2011
Karen will love this!!!
 
1
What's your opinion on Precious Kittens?
rate
1 rating: +5.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Details
Related Topics
Ragdoll Cat

Breed of cat

The 365 Kittens a Year Calendar 2010

A book by Workman Publishing Inc

Adopt Me Puppy

Homeless, lost or abandoned animals in Shelters - October is

Drinkwell Platinum

A pet fountain featuring a free-falling stream of water

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists