|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Ice Cream » Reviews » Schweddy Balls Ice Cream

Schweddy Balls Ice Cream

1 rating: 3.0
A limited edition Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream flavor

   Available in both pints and Scoop Shops, this flavor is Fair Trade vanilla ice cream with a hint of rum and is loaded with fudge covered rum and milk chocolate malt balls.

1 review about Schweddy Balls Ice Cream

Intercom: "Clean Up "Schweddy Balls" in Aisle 5; Also, Price Check On Those 'Balls' Please...."

  • Nov 21, 2011
  • by
  • posted in Gourmand
Rating:
+3
This limited edition ice cream flavor was inspired by SNL’s skit and have been the target of some ‘nay-sayers’ since some consumers frowned upon the hidden innuendos behind the ice cream’s name (full story here). Personally, I think people should just lay off and stop being so stucked up. It is only an ice cream flavor and not to be taken seriously. I mean, there are bigger problems in the world than a mere ice cream and besides, kids are really not that innocent these days because of what they are exposed to on the internet, cell phones, TV and radio. The title was inspired by an innuendo-laced 1998 skit featuring Alec Baldwin as baker Pete Schweddy, who promises, "No one can resist my Schweddy balls."

          


                   


But let’s forget about that. I recently special-ordered a few pints (some to give away) of this flavor because of the controversies behind it. Yeah, I am that way; I like it when people try to stop me from doing something. My favorite flavors are the Choco-Brownie Fudge, Phish Food, Cherry Garcia and NY Super-Chunk; suffice it to say, I do like Ben and Jerry’s quite a bit and I am a choco-holic in many ways. “Schweddy Balls” wasn’t anything I was expecting.

    
 
This flavor is more vanilla than anything. It does have some candy in it, I thought it had some of the “Whopper” Balls I used to like as a kid. It tastes ‘malty’ and it does have a hint of rum which I really liked; wonder if it can make me have a buzz? LOL. I have to say, this flavor is more refreshing than I thought. The vanilla is very smooth, and it wasn’t as sweet as I feared it would be. The “balls” themselves were the ones that gave it the sweet flavor as you bite into its crunchy crackers-like texture. I was amazed how they managed to keep the ‘balls’ crunchy and fresh even buried under so much ice cream.
 
So I guess “Schweddy Balls” may not be one of the best B & J flavors in existence, and it does appear to be more of a gimmick to capitalize on the SNL skit. Still, it is a good refreshing dessert, and ice cream is ice cream….balls may be included or not. It is a fun flavor….and the way folks just seemed to pay more attention to its innuendos may have just given B & J more publicity. There is no such thing as bad publicity after all.
 
Give these "Schweddy Balls" a chance! [7/10]
Come Have a Bite of These

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
30
Thought-Provoking
26
Fun to Read
30
Well-Organized
30
Post a Comment
December 01, 2011
Common priorities are inane. Most people ought be more concerned with overeating ice cream and other sweets than the innocuous innuendo of this treat's title. Thanks again for this singularly descriptive review.
 
November 23, 2011
Seems people like to bitch and complain about one thing or another - I saw a scented candle the other day that was a cookie smell and it was called "Smell My Nuts" - big deal--I thought it was comical but I'm sure critical peeps wouldn't think so. I'd like to try your ice cream with balls. LMAO -- sounds good to me!
November 23, 2011
I am sure that the folks complaining too much about this have had "schweddy balls' at one point in their lives LOL! "smell my nuts" oookkkkaayyy....LOL!!

I mean, I get it, why use this gimmick to get sales? But they've made it worst by boycotting stores that carry them....I mean I've heard worst things when I was a kid. Maybe it is just me, but kids really aren't that innocent these days, they'd know this was a joke.
November 24, 2011
I agree - kids know lots more than they should and I figure that even if one does not agree with these kinds of gimmicks, there's no reason for all to panic and draw more attention to it; let it be humor as such and stop making a big deal over an ice cream title that will be forgotten soon anyway. Now excuse me while I light my Hazelnut cookie "Smell My Nuts" candle!
November 25, 2011
What the hell??? Do I see spam lurking??
November 25, 2011
yeah, I flagged those. Hey, I reviewed a horror movie recently....
November 25, 2011
I flagged it also. Don't keep me in suspense--which horror movie????
November 25, 2011
PS - I'm too tired to look for myself LOL
November 25, 2011
it is a zombie movie from Germany...link is here. You are so spoiled! LOL! I cannot believe that a review like this is getting more attention than the ones I've actually thought hard to write LOL!
November 25, 2011
You obviously have the natural ability to get attention without even realizing it -- you're so talented my man!! LOL
November 25, 2011
why thank you, but I think the 'schweddy balls' in the review title had something to do with it LOL!!
November 25, 2011
Not necessarily---I've seen good titles with bad reviews LOL -
November 25, 2011
hahah. check this out...you may get a kick out of its title too....
 
November 22, 2011
Limited edition?! What's this world coming to? Yeah, right... balls and buzz :D
November 22, 2011
everything these days is limited LMAO!
November 22, 2011
I know my money and time are limited! I am not so sure about the US$, QE3 might just be in the offing!
 
November 22, 2011
HAHAHAHA, Great write up WP.
November 22, 2011
I'm finishing up a pint of one of these bad boys rannah.
 
November 21, 2011
Your kidding me....they took a stupid joke from LATER SNL, and made this.......wow. How soon will Shweddy Weiners be showing up next to Ball Parks and Hebrew Nationals.
November 21, 2011
LMAO! I bet that would be next....
 
November 21, 2011
Hahahahahaha, love the title, and great review! I've been keeping an eye out for this at grocery stores, but I refuse to intentionally seek this out because I'm limiting my ice cream intake! Just out of curiosity, though... where did you manage to special order this? ;P I tempted to get a taste of some of these balls!
November 21, 2011
Heh. Glad you liked the title. I am jealous that you are cutting your ice cream intake; me, I need to get a pint once or twice a month. They have this at the Haight-Ashbury store for a $ 1 more. But a friend of mine owns a mini-mart and so she ordered them for me. However, I heard that certain Whole Foods market (like in Oakland) carry it....that is if you ask for it. That would be weird...."you carry schweddy balls?" LOL!
 
November 21, 2011
Favorite review title ever!
November 21, 2011
I almost titled it "come lick these balls..." But I didn't go through with it LOL!
November 22, 2011
Might have been a bit too overt. LOL!
November 23, 2011
I wanted to end the review with "c'mon, moms who complained about this, you've had "Schweddy Balls" in your lifetime LMAO!
 
November 21, 2011
Uh...I haven't received any packages from you ;p This sounds pretty yummy- rum, malt balls and ice cream? Yes please!
November 21, 2011
message me your address and I will fed ex you some :P
November 23, 2011
@ says that there'll be "Sweddy Weiners" to be sold next to Ball Parks and Hebrew National hotdogs...that is funny! LOL!
November 23, 2011
LOL...Well, it'd prob melt but, next time we hang in the City, we'll have to hit up B&Js. The idea of sweddy weiners is awesome but, what would they serve with it? Hella chiles and jalapenos? LOL
 
1
What's your opinion on Schweddy Balls Ice Cream?
rate
1 rating: +3.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Schweddy Balls
Details
Related Topics
Chocolate Fudge Brownie Ice-cream

One of the top ten flavors of ice-cream produced by Ben & Je

Chunky Monkey Ice-cream

Flavor of ice cream produced by Ben & Jerry's primarily cons

Ben & Jerry's

A company that manufactures ice cream, frozen yogurt, sorbet

Boston Cream Pie

Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream Flavor

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists