|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Poetry » Reviews » Sea Oats at Night

Sea Oats at Night

1 rating: 5.0
poem - at the beach at night
the moon relfects a pure light

sea oats waving in a slight breeze

someone's true heart is awake

and there is only the gift

not to be measured

not to be thought

but just as a man walking

his two feet feeling a quiet wonder

that takes him right here

where you are

and sea oats waving a smile

for all the stars to see
1 review about Sea Oats at Night

Sea Oats Waving in a Slight Breeze - poem

  • Aug 4, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5

please read the following slowly, without any expectation - it is a mood piece - like your outside hearing a bird-


..........................................


the moon relfects a pure light


sea oats waving in a slight breeze

someone's true heart is awake

and there is only the gift

not to be measured

not to be thought

but just as a man walking

his two feet feeling a quiet wonder

that takes him right here

where you are

and sea oats waving a smile

for all the stars to see


-gary c. esposito



What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
August 04, 2009
Mine was supposed to be more like a tanka. I've already removed it.
August 05, 2009
i read it and thought is was good! didn't comment because you said you would likey remove it . you can always re-post. don't be hard on your creativity. i liked it because (and i say this very much as a compliment) it reminded me somewhat of childrens verse. i love fairy tales and your verse seemed to be part of that nature.
August 05, 2009
Well if you meant that as a compliment...
August 05, 2009

affirmative...

for me your short verse had a touch of something in my childhood.

some of the greatest authors/poets would sometimes write in that nature;...

here's E. E. Cummings' "maggie and milly and molly and may" -

maggie and milly and molly and may
went down to the beach (to play one day)

and maggie discovered a shell that sang
so sweetly she couldn’t remember her troubles,and

milly befriended a stranded star
whose rays five languid fingers were;

and molly was chased by a horrible thing
which raced sideways while blowing bubbles:and

may came home with a smooth round stone
as small as a world and as large as alone.

For whatever we lose(like a you or a me)
it’s always ourselves we find in the sea
August 05, 2009
I've never read that one. It's wonderful.
 
August 04, 2009
Beautiful imagery and such a sweet piece.  Sea oats are one of my favorite things to photograph at the beach, and the beach is one of my favorite places to hang out at night.  Thanks for sharing, Gary :)

By the way, since this falls under the category of "Original Writing", I'm going to categorize it as such!

August 05, 2009
thanks kiddo! - and for your assistance.
August 05, 2009
No problem! :)
 
1
What's your opinion on Sea Oats at Night?
rate
1 rating: +5.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Related Topics
Where the Sidewalk Ends Shel Silverstein

A book by Shel Silverstein.

Haiku U : From Aristotle to Zola, 100 Great Books

A book by David M. Bader

Prophet

Kahlil Gibran's poetic prose about the last lectures a sage

Walt Whitman (1819 - 1892)

Walter Whitman (May 31, 1819 – March 26, 1892) was an Americ

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists