|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Chocolate » Reviews » See's Candy

See's Candy

4 Ratings: 4.5
An episode from California's Gold

Candy store founded in 1921. Owned by Warren Buffett's Berkshire Hathaway.

Tags: Chocolate, Candy, Warren Buffett, Candy Store, Berskshire Hathaway
1 review about See's Candy

Delicious and A Tremendous Value! Warren Buffett Approved

  • Jun 9, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5

See's Candy is awesome. I frequently buy it as a gift and when we have parties, I will buy some and display it for guests to eat at their leisure (similar to mixed nuts or wasabi peas)

I admire and enjoy so many things about their operation, including:

Deliciousness.  Their candy tastes great. I much prefer their chocolate to other supposedly higher class and more expensive chocolatiers.

Great Variety.  They make so many great candies. My favorites are the bordeauxs (brown sugar and buttercream), caramels and scotchmellows (marshmallow, chocolate and caramel). It is fun to pick out your own selection, or if you are in a hurry, you can select a pre-arranged box.

Samples:  Anytime you walk into a store, they immediately hand you a sample piece of candy. Sometimes you get two samples.

Store Experience:  The stores are always clean and well organized and the staff is extremely friendly. They will gift wrap your boxes for free.

Cost.  Here is the most unbelievable part:
See's per pound $15.60
Godiva per pound $44.00
I didn't realize how cheap See's was relative to Godiva until recently. When buying candy for a party I spent $20 at See's and was shocked at the low price since I thought I bought a large amount. I remarked what a great value it was and asked the woman helping me what I could get for $20 at Godiva to which she replied, "a box."
In our local mall there is both a See's and a Godiva store. I cannot figure out how the Godiva stays in business. I guess I can understand how people prefer Godiva to See's, but not at that price. See's seems like such a compelling value in comparison.

One interesting sidenote is that See's is owned by Warren Buffett's Berkshire Hathaway Inc. That the worlds most famous "value investor" purchased and owns this brand demonstrates my assertion that See's is a great value and a great company.

I know I am not alone in my admiration as I have heard both @taraH2 and @melonymlewis extolling the virtues of See's.



 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
24
Thought-Provoking
11
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
July 08, 2009
Your review of See's Candies sure made me hungry. I have seen features on them on either Food Network or Travel Channel. Is this a California chain or do they have shops in other parts of the country. Those scotchmellows sound awesome!
July 08, 2009
They have stores in a number of states, but mostly in CA. They also have a website where you can order, but then you have to pay for shipping. I highly recommended their candy...you should try it.
 
June 25, 2009
This is a great review. See's is, in fact, fantastic. I was never a big candy fan. But my beautiful wife, @magnusmom is a long time, extremely devoted See's fan. Her love has been transformed to me. I often use "bringing my wife" candy as an excuse to stop in for a sample. When I have a second, I'm writing a review. Bordeaux's t to butterchers, to normandie's, to vanilla nut caramels. You really can't go wrong.
 
June 24, 2009
couldn't agree more!!! NOTHING compares to See's...not even Cadbury milk chocolate from England. And the last time I was at Costco, I saw that you could buy 2 gift certificates for 1 pound each at See's for $22 or $25. Now that makes the deal even Sweeter!!! My favorite See's candy is the milk or dark Butterchew...just caramel in chocolate. And a very close second is the Scoth Kiss, marshmallow inside of caramel (wrapped in wax paper)...yummy yummy!! That one is a great special treat for kids if you don't want them to have any caffeine (chocolate) but don't mind the sugar. It is really soft and easily tears into tiny bites. I've used one of these to get us through a road trip! Bye Bye...writing this has made me decide to go get in the car and get some NOW.....
June 24, 2009
I too like the Butterchews but I have never tried the Scotch Kiss...I will definitely check it out next time. Thanks @TaraH2
June 25, 2009
Scotch Kiss. Interesting. Ever tried the Vanilla Nut Caramel or the Vanilal Nut Fudge? Different, yet lovely.
June 25, 2009
You guys are proving my point...i can't imagine people comparing notes on their favorite Godiva pieces. "Do you like the super rich bitter one with praline or the super rich bitter one shaped like a shell?"
October 27, 2009
It's the caramel in the Scotch Kiss that I love....it's a different sort of caramel flavor, and so soft too. Yup, See's has been a favorite of mine since I was a kid (we have them here in the Northwest). And I love that Costco has gift certificates for them. I do like some of the new, darker dark chocolates and we have some wonderful local chocolate companies that have started up recently, but I have to say that a 1-lb box of my favorite varieties from See's (Give me some Bordeaux, some Kona Mocha, some choc truffles and an extra bag of dark chocolate almonds to eat on the ride home) ranks as a favorite treat!
 
June 15, 2009
I miss Sees, they don't have one near me but I used to go to them all the time in California. Sometimes around Christmas Wisconsin would get kiosks in their malls. Godiva is overpriced as hell. It sounds like Sony, which tends to charge a higher price based on name alone. You forgot to bring up the stark white and black of the stores. Every Sees's I've been in has that breat checkerboard white and black with bright white walls. It just looks great.
June 15, 2009
Good Point...the store interiors are fantastic and such a throwback but not in a cheesy way. I saw that the website offered sales and shipping...you might want to check it out, but if you have to pay for shipping then you lose some of the low price benefit. Thanks for the comment.
June 15, 2009
BOURDOUX!
 
June 11, 2009
This review seriously made me drool....I might just have to stop at the Sees in Manhattan Village. The samples are my favorite part and their lollipops are TO DIE FOR!
 
June 11, 2009
great review! It's a shame I live in Holland… (I'm kinda squeamish about shipping foods from another country… if they even ship to Holland) After reading your review about see's, I looked around for an official website, just to see what they sell. And I have to say, I'm quite tempted to buy something. And like you've said.. the price.. wow! Here where I live the cheapest box of assorted chocolates is aprox. 9 euros, which is around.. 13 dollars. Saddest thing is that the chocolate tastes really bad. So if you want good chocolate around here, you'd have to go to shops like leonidas and honestly, I find it rather expensive… So who knows, if they ship to Holland.. I might buy something :P
June 11, 2009
Thanks for the comment. I know what you mean...cheap chocolate tastes terrible. But See's is great. I am sure that you have plenty of great desserts in Holland though.
 
June 10, 2009
This is the first time i have seen the Lunch platform utilized to further a domestic spat. I know your wife, @rrogoff loves Godiva... so i'm curious how much of your motivation was to further this ongoing dispute with your lovely wife. either way... great review. i can't wait to see@rrogoff's review of Godiva now. on another note, this kind of helps to explain something i found off during one of my shopping adventures at Costco recently. They were selling $50 worth of Godiva gift cards for $25?!?!? i couldn't believe it... how can Godiva stay in business like that i thought??  well after seeing the price per pound in your review, it makes perfect sense.... Godiva is really over priced.  i'm now wondering how Godiva compares to other "high end" chocolates like Leonidas or Woodhouse.  I wish we had a chocolate expert on the site to help us break this all down... hmmm... where can we find someone like that???
June 10, 2009
I look forward to a Godiva rebuttal review, but I think I made a pretty strong case. Have to love Costco...not only is it a great value, but they make other stores cheaper as well.
 
1
What's your opinion on See's Candy?
rate
4 Ratings: +4.5
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Details
Related Topics
Hershey Bar

The flagship chocolate bar manufactured by the The Hershey C

Toblerone

Chocolate bar made by Kraft Foods Switzerland

Cadbury Creme Egg

A chocolate Easter candy

A chocolate made in Germnay

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists