|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Photos » Reviews » Shutterfly.com

Shutterfly.com

1 rating: 2.0
Photo hosting website

  

Tags: Websites, Photos
1 review about Shutterfly.com

ShutterWho?

  • Jan 27, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+2
I've used Shutterfly for a variety of services. I have a few pictures hosted, I've ordered prints, and even thought about using their service to share my new work with family members around the country.

To be honest, when it came down to it, Shutterfly wasn't really providing any value added services that can't be found on sites with a larger audience, more search engine impact, and high brand recognition.

Their printing services aren't that bad... with one exception. If I print out some photos to send to people, or greeting cards using my own photographs, I'd rather not have the big ole Shutterfly logo on each print. I understand why they do it, but the choice made to brand their prints was unfortunate because it (IMO) is a departure from the high level of customer satisfaction found with other online services.

Overall, Shutterfly is probably a 5 out of 10. Middle of the road.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
January 27, 2009
thanks guys, I'm just glad I can contribute to the convo. I'm thinking I might actually do a review of Flikr, webshots, dotphoto, and a couple others. In short, to me webshots seemed a bit..amateur. I didn't like the site much. it was a bit clunky but then again, it has been a couple years.
 
January 27, 2009
I'll also rate your comments "remarkably helpful" .. in spirit??
 
January 27, 2009
ohmy.. what a conversation!! I've been meaning to try Flickr for some time now (I signed up for an account and that was about it), but the other one that I have found to love is Webshots!! Any thoughts?? And I wasn't too impressed with Shutterfly, although the local TV station did a test of photobooks from a bunch of companies and Shutterfly's came out on top. Hmmmm, maybe I should order photos from all these websites and compare the quality!
 
January 27, 2009
i like it... i really like it!! one problem with that approach... we would then encourage people to write incomplete reviews so they could then interact in the comment section and thereby increase their rating. Hmmmm... this will take some work. My thoughts at the moment are that we need to keep the rating tied to the review itself and not the comments, because if there are 100 comments on this review it will be a brutal for a new user to find the best content because it could be buried under a bunch of lame comments (like my current lame comment). Okay... so how do we encourage users to post all the relevant content in the review so it doesn't get lost in the comments... that's the million dollar question.... it's 9:15... where the hell is our product team when we need them!!!
 
January 27, 2009
perhaps you could tie comments posted strictly by the creator of the review and have those contain a collective rate that combines all of their comments but is considered seperate from the review? Wait, is that what you just said? :) Perhaps like a 'response level rating' that lets other users know the reviewee does more than post content, but interacts with good content too. OH OH OH! Then you could have an overall rating that combines it all together to show a users 'power rating'. Okay, I'll shut up now.
 
January 27, 2009
great reply to my comment... thanks. I wish i could rate your reply to my comment as "remarkably helpful"... hmmmm new product feature maybe?? or do we figure out a way to tie the comment to the review so that the review rating can be increased... or do we make an easy tool to include the comment text into the review itself. Product Team... help!!!
 
January 27, 2009
Ahh, good point. duh! Okay, so here is what I use now. For photo sharing you can't beat Flickr's pro account. Its 25 bucks a YEAR and its a great way to gain exposure. I'd just recommend you spend a few minutes every day or when ever you can, learning the network. Look at how you can use it, and take advantage of as much as possible. For printing I use Ritzpix.com. I have yet to find a print house with the quality and speed of Ritz Camera (I think its called Wolfe Camera in some regions. You can order your prints online and either have them mailed or you can go to your local store and pick'em up. I haven't really found a good free service for selling photos yet. If you know of a decent one, let me know. Cheers!
 
January 27, 2009
great review... as i read i couldn't help wondering which service you use in place of sutterfly?? which is better? thanks!!
 
1
What's your opinion on Shutterfly.com?
rate
1 rating: +2.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Logo
Details
Related Topics

A photosharing website

A photosharing website

StumbleUpon

A social bookmarking website that allows you to find new sit

First to Review

"ShutterWho?"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists