|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Wiki

The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker‚Äč is an action-adventure game and the tenth installment in The Legend of Zelda series. It was released for the Nintendo GameCube in Japan on December 13, 2002, in North America on March 24, 2003, in Europe on May 3, 2003, and in Australia on May 7, 2003. The Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass for the Nintendo DS is the direct sequel to The Wind Waker.

The game is set on a group of islands in a vast sea—a first for the series. The player controls Link, the protagonist of the Zelda series. He struggles against his nemesis, Ganondorf, for control of a sacred relic known as the Triforce. Link spends a significant portion of the game sailing, traveling between islands, and traversing through dungeons and temples to gain the power necessary to defeat Ganondorf. He also spends time trying to find his little sister.

The Wind Waker follows in the footsteps of Ocarina of Time and its sequel Majora's Mask, retaining the basic gameplay and control system from the two Nintendo 64 titles. A heavy emphasis is placed on using and controlling wind with a baton called the Wind Waker, which aids sailing and floating in air. Controversial during development for its use of cel shading graphics, The Wind Waker received acclaim on release and is one of the Nintendo GameCube's most popular games.

edit this info

Details

Console:  Gamecube
Release Date:  March 24, 2003
ESRB:  Everyone
Number of Players:  1
Publisher:  Nintendo
Developer:  Nintendo
Genre:  Action Role-Playing
What's your opinion on The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker [Gam...?
rate
17 Ratings: +3.5
You have exceeded the maximum length.
More The Legend of Zelda: The Wind ... reviews
review by . January 18, 2010
posted in The Gaming Hub
A fun but tedious game.
   The Legend Of Zelda: The Wind Waker was the first in a series of Zelda games that made use of cel shading, resulting in a "cartoony" appearance. Due to the childish animation, I myself made the assumption that The Wind Waker would be one of the more kid-friendly Zelda games. After completing the game, I have found that that much is true.       While The Wind Waker follows the traditional Zelda formula, there are a few twists to the plot that keep the …
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
Don't write it off just because of the graphics. The storyline is much darker (in a good way!) than I ever thought it would be.
review by . July 11, 2010
posted in The Gaming Hub
I had loved the Zelda series, but was dismayed when I saw Wind Waker. The cartoonish graphics look childish and amateurish. I nonetheless decided to rent the game and give it a shot. However, I gave up after a half hour or so. It just wasn't fun and wasn't worth my time.
review by . April 06, 2003
.. they make blockbuster games that stick with you long after you have finished playing them.Despite what detractors have said regarding the change in animation styles, the game looks and plays unbelievably well. I've been a huge Zelda fan for years, and bought my GC in anticipation of this game being released. It doesn't disappoint.The storyline has been recapped a million times, so I won't go into that. What I *will* say is that the developers of this game clearly understood what fans loved and …
Photos
A473900A81DE29377C753CDBB608931
Related Topics
The Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks

The newest entry in the Zelda series, this time with a train

F2B766026CC40ECED528D05A175747A

The 2003 GameCube Fantasy Action Adventure video game

The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask

A video game released by Nintendo in 2000 for the Nintendo 6

First to Review
Polls
F2B766026CC40ECED528D05A175747A

The best of Zelda and Link

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists