|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Scarlet Letter

The Scarlet Letter

109 Ratings: 2.5
by Nathaniel Hawthorne
11 reviews about The Scarlet Letter
review by . June 17, 2010
  The narrative of Nathaniel Hawthorne’s Scarlet Letter plays out amid the religious fervor of an early American Puritan community. While an extremely diverse movement, and difficult to cleanly define, Puritan canon consisted of the Old and New Testaments, with an especial emphasis on the prophetic warnings of the Old Testament and an identification with the Old Testament Israelites. The Scarlet Letter acknowledges major Old Testament themes in the context of the …
Quick Tip by . July 17, 2010
I found this book hard to read. The story itself was haunting and condemnatory.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
...I just really can't get into this old style of writing...
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
I absolutely loved the movie (with Demi Moore) but to follow the book takes a lot of HARD reading. Hawthorne is not an easy read.
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
I read this book in high school,but i really liked it. Wouldn't mind owning this classic novel.
Quick Tip by . July 07, 2010
yet another book i read my senior year. couldnt really get that into it tho.
review by . July 07, 2010
I fully entered into this novel expecting to like it., although I knew nothing about the plot. The fact that the author was said to have very detailed sentenced intrigued me because I wished to see the characters through his eyes. Unfortunately I was let down, instead of being detailed I saw the novel as wordy and too thick for enjoyable reading. It has good attributes from a  literature stand point, but it put me off reading Hawthorne again.     …
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Hester, the protagonist, is a true model of redemption. She displays the fragility of the human spirit as well as the resilience. THe novel is a great showing of puritan values and satirical criticism.
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
Although I read it in high school, I think of it now as a period piece.
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
When my teacher handed me my beatup school issue copy of this book, and what I had known about it previous to reading it, I didn't want to like it. I read ahead of the class, read it a few times before they were finished, and went out and bought my own copy of this book. It was so much better than I had expected and even could hope for.
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
This was a reading assignment for my high school English class. I didn't really enjoy reading it though. It wasn't really the type of book I like to read. I found it a little slow. But, it's a good story if you like that type of book.
What's your opinion on The Scarlet Letter?
rate
109 Ratings: +2.5
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
The Scarlet Letter
Details
Related Topics
The Da Vinci Code, Special Illustrated Edition

A book by Dan Brown

Slaughterhouse-Five

A book by Kurt Vonnegut.

0AC943D582A07AD3B49E320475F0CF2

A book

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists