|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Tv Shows » Reviews » Whale Wars

Whale Wars

11 Ratings: 3.5
A documentary style TV show addressing the protection of whales off the waters of Japan.

Whale Wars is a one-hour weekly American documentary-style reality television series that premiered on November 7, 2008 on the Animal Planet cable channel. The program follows Paul Watson, founder of the Sea Shepherd Conservation Society, as he and his … see full wiki

1 review about Whale Wars

A Quick Tip by QUEENBFLIX

  • Aug 27, 2010
  • by
If you want some reality TV that's genuinely real give this show a try. There aren't any drunken orange bimbos staggering around the beach or anything. Here you get a group of dedicated people putting their lives on the line (and that's not just meaningless words) to stop the slaughter of endangered whales being hunted in an Antarctic whale sanctuary. Somebody is going to get killed.
Caption Caption Caption Caption
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
9
Post a Comment
September 02, 2010
This has become my favorite reality series after Meerkat Manor! So good and so realistic! You should check out the new reality series "Swamp Men"
September 02, 2010
My grandmother watches "Meerkat Manor". She always watches it when she's talking to people on the phone and interrupts the conversation to tell us what's happening. It gets old fast.
September 02, 2010
because it is real. LOL!
September 02, 2010
There haven't been any new Meercat Manor shows in ages. Too bad. I'm not sure about Swamp Men, but I do like Billy the Exterminator.
 
September 01, 2010
This is a series I've wanted to see myself. I notice when it's on a couple of times, but I've never made the time to actually view it. I'm glad people are passionate about protecting the whales.
September 02, 2010
I've got to check and see if netFlix carries it because I just started last season and I'm sure there must be a lot more. The Sea Shepherds have been down there for 6 years. I'm not certain how long the series has been on though.
September 03, 2010
Yeah, I think it's been going on for at least a little while. I'm sure Netflix will eventually carry it sooner or later if they are not doing so now.
September 03, 2010
I suppose I can wait. It's not like I haven't got 500 other flix on the list.
September 03, 2010
(laughs) I hear you there!
September 04, 2010
And more popping up through recommendations every day. (whimper)
September 08, 2010
I know!! it's a good and bad thing, lol!
 
August 27, 2010
Now, if only this show were endorsed by the U.S. Government and people who poach animals were forced to watch it over and over and over. After all, if L.A.'s prisons can torture their inmates with heat rays because they don't leave visible tissue damage, why not allow for mental torture that forces people to see the error of their ways? I'll let you decide whether I'm being facetious or not... if you can.
; )
August 27, 2010
Actually the Japanese aren't breaking any international laws. They have a very clever way of getting around most of it. The international law says that each country can set it's own limits on how many whales it can take for research but the meat of the whales taken has to be used. So the Japanese whaling fleet has set a limit of 150 on the smaller whale (worth about $500,000 each) and 50 on humbacks (worth froma million to a million and a half each). Then they paint RESEARCH on all their boats and go to it. I still don't see how they manage to get away with it in an area that's labeled as a sanctuary though. As for being facetious, does CLOCKWORK ORANGE ring any bells? =)
August 27, 2010
Damn it, now I've got that son stuck in my head. "Ring my bell, come one now, ring my bell!" Anyway, the international law should prevent any animals for being killed for profit, though that probably won't happen because humans suck.
August 27, 2010
You can see how much money is involved. There's no way anybody is going to stop that. But it's scary to see how fast the situation down there is escalating.
August 27, 2010
Simple solution: We go to war with Japan! Okay, that was obviously me being facetious.
August 27, 2010
Obviously, because we would never go to war with another capitalist country--only pinkos and muslims.
August 27, 2010
Yup.
 
1
What's your opinion on Whale Wars?
rate
11 Ratings: +3.5
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Whale Wars
Details
Related Topics
American Idol - Season 8

Reality TV Show based on a singing competition

Big Brother

A reality tv show.

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists