|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Beer » Reviews » Oskar Blues Old Chub

Oskar Blues Old Chub

2 Ratings: 0.5
A Scottish-style ale from Oskar Blues brewery

add a wiki

Tags: Beer, Ale, Scottish Ale, Beereinstein, Oskar Blues, Old Chub
1 review about Oskar Blues Old Chub

Canned beer can taste great after all!

  • Nov 20, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
What’s the story behind Old Chub, you ask? No idea. The name has me stumped (isn’t chub a kind of fish?), but according to Oskar Blues brewery, it’s a strong Scottish-style ale that “takes care of our deep affections for malt” by incorporating seven different malts, hops from across the pond, and beechwood-smoked grains. Sounds tasty! So why I am reviewing it? Um … because it sounded tasty. I also needed a few good-lookin’ cans for my Should We Can the Bottle? article, so I chose Ol’ Chub for its stylish label—and for the brewery’s outstanding reputation.

The beer pours cola-brown but flashes burgundy in the light. Its tan head dissolves quickly and lines my glass with sticky lace. Dark fruit, molasses, and caramel offer a buffet for the nose, but one taste obliterates my taste buds. Rich malts drench my palate and linger there as licorice, cherries, raisins, chocolate. Late notes of smoke, bread, and bitter hops nearly drown in the over-the-top sweetness (I’d go down with that ship happily!), and a full body with medium carbonation makes each flavor crackle and spark.

A creamy but ferocious ale, Old Chub hides its 8% ABV well. But watch out; it’s in there, and it’ll take you down. Drink warily. If my wife’s facial contortions during her first sip were any indication, the malt kick is nigh overwhelming for beginners, but true Highland warriors will relish the intensity. I wanted to keep on sippin’ into eternity.

Check out my other articles and reviews on beereinstein.com!


 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
November 21, 2009
Nice initial review. For the past several years I drank wine and cocktails almost exclusively, but have really gotten back into beer since a great little gastropub, Simmzy's, opened up in my town. As a born-again beer fan, I'm very excited an einstein of beer has joined Lunch. I'll look forward to your future reviews. Cheers.
November 21, 2009
I love Simmzy's! The bartenders are so cool and they always let you sample their beers. A friend of mine is a beer rep, lucky guy, and goes there every week since they always change their beer menu. Einstein, don't know if you're in the LA area, but, if you are- you should definitely check it out in Manhattan Beach!
November 21, 2009
I met a guy there who was a rep for New Belgium. Is that your friend? He hooked us up with a Lychee Tart Ale, which I thought sounded crazy, but it was awesome. He claimed there was only 1 barrel in all of LA. I felt very privileged.
November 21, 2009
Thanks for the comments! I'm not in the LA area (Phoenix), but I'll definitely check out Simmzy's next time I cross state lines (which I do frequently, as Arizona is not the best state for finding beer -- moving ASAP!). And yeah, the New Belgium Lychee Tart has always sounded weird but cool to me. Haven't had a chance to try it yet, though.
 
November 20, 2009
I just started getting into beer last week, so I'm totally excited to read a review like this!  I had no idea that there were so many ways to describe a beer, but you did it beautifully!  Thanks for contributing to the Lunch's Beer Community!  By the way, neat blog :)
November 20, 2009
Thanks!  I'm glad you enjoyed it.  I plan on posting many more!  Ah, to be new to beer again ... luckily, with a drink this complex and widely produced, you can find untried beers years after becoming a certified beer nerd.  In fact, my next article is all about finding local beer hotspots :D
November 20, 2009
Awesome, looking forward to it! Last week, I blindly stumbled into a beer bar in San Francisco. Being a mostly wine and cocktails girl, I ordered the smallest glass of their lightest beer. Thank goodness I was with a beer lover because otherwise, I would not have known to sample some of the good stuff! I'm especially looking forward to that review of beer hotspots! :)
November 20, 2009
Beer adventures like that are always a blast. What did you end up having? I update my blog Mondays and Thursdays, so you'll get to read about my adventures after the weekend!
November 20, 2009
I had a few different ones that I don't remember the names of, but I remember a couple were Hefeweizens and I tried a few darker ones, too. I distinctly remember the ones that had a chocolate aftertaste and another with a lychee aftertaste. I was pleasantly surprised! :)
November 21, 2009
Sounds like a productive trip!
 
1
What's your opinion on Oskar Blues Old Chub?
rate
2 Ratings: +0.5
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Oskar Blues Old Chub
Details
Type: Scottish Ale
Country: America
Brewery: Oskar
ABV: 8%

Related Topics
Asahi

Beer produced in Tokyo, Japan.

Bass

English beer brewed in Burton on behalf of InBev by Marstons

Becks

Beer produced by Brauerei Beck & GmbH Co KG brewery

Coors

Pale lager produced by the Molson Coors Brewing Company

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists