|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » El Capitan's Garlic Salsa

El Capitan's Garlic Salsa

1 rating: 5.0
A garlic salsa by El Capitan.

El Capitan's Garlic Salsa is a traditional Mexican salsa from Guadalajara, Mexico, bringing you a true, uncompromising and authentic homemade taste. Roasted peppers, tomatoes and made with fresh garlic providing a roasted, smokey garlic taste.   … see full wiki

1 review about El Capitan's Garlic Salsa

Get ready for a fiesta in your mouth!

  • Jul 24, 2010
Rating:
+5
"Life's hard...but it doesn't have to taste bad" is the motto of salsa maker (and dancer!) Josue Cano, aka @captain on Lunch.  With a motto like that, I just knew that I had to try his El Capitan's Garlic Salsa, so I ordered a couple jars of his original garlic salsa (I'm too whimpy to try the x-hot garlic salsa!) -- one for me, and one for a friend, and in couple of days, it was FedEx-ed to me.

When I opened up the package, I immediately fell in love with the color of the roasted tomato sauce.  It's a gorgeous deep red color.  The second thing I fell in love with -- the label on it.  Something is so cool about that font and that skull and crossbo-err-swords.  The third thing I fell in love with (as you can tell, there's a lot of love here!), which is the most important -- the taste.  Upon opening the first jar, I seriously ate half the jar by myself with some tortilla chips.


It's garlic salsa, and while you do taste garlic, it's not overwhelming at all.  It's the perfect amount of flavor in every way -- the fresh ingredients really balance each other out and it's not too salty or bland.  The original has just enough of a spicy kick to it.  Speaking of fresh ingredients, I really love how there are only four ingredients listed on the label -- tomatoes, chili peppers, fresh garlic and sea salt, and as the label touts, they're all "ingredients that you can pronounce"!  Furthermore -- bonus points for having no additives or preservatives and for being vegan.

Eating El Capitan's salsa is like having a fiesta in my mouth.  This is the kind of stuff that you'd find freshly made in an authentic taqueria that you can't get enough of, and you beg the restaurant to let you buy a jar, but they wouldn't let you, so you end up filling up like, ten to-go condiment cups with them so that you can still savor the flavor at home.  Oops, I digress.  Oh wait, I totally don't do that... *shifty eyes*

I've put this stuff on tortilla chips, tacos, burritos, salads, pupusas and what have you.  It's a very versatile condiment and many savory dish that you make could use a little of this salsa.  Mexican or not.  I'm down to half of my second jar now.  So much for giving my second jar to a friend (@MeowMeowMeow doesn't have to know!).

My only complaint: one of jar's label was applied a couple millimeters crooked ;)

Try this for yourself by picking up a jar or two at CapitanSalsa.com!
Get ready for a fiesta in your mouth!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
47
Thought-Provoking
47
Fun to Read
48
Well-Organized
48
Post a Comment
February 07, 2011
Four ingredients? That is truly awesome. We make ours with six, but now it seems so industrial.
February 08, 2011
Don't get me wrong, I love my cornucopia of ingredients in my own salsa, but that's just impressive that El Capitan can get away for just four and make it so delicious still!
 
October 06, 2010
I bet my husband would love this. The picture on the label alone would be worth the price. Thanks for sharing Becky
October 06, 2010
Thanks for reading, Becky! I totally kept the jar ;)
 
August 29, 2010
I think I might likee some of this. Although, I'm shocked that you would cheat on Trader Joe...he must be crushed! ;)
August 30, 2010
Yes, you should try some! And FYI, Teej and I are in an open relationship. We're way past getting jealous of each other. It's healthier that way ;)
 
August 12, 2010
I can only tell you this... while reading the review and looking at that bottle, the 3 words that came to my mind is ... (are you ready for this?) She is HOT! ;p

Mind to fedex some over if that's the "after taste"? ;)
August 12, 2010
;D

And typically for something like this, I would say, "not sharing!" out of selfishness, but this time, it's because there really isn't any left to share, LOL :P
August 12, 2010
It might be a good idea to share, else you might get a sore throat, LOL.......
 
August 10, 2010
Yum! Garlic Salsa....now you're talking my lingo ;p I was gonna ask where we can get it but, read your comment below!
August 12, 2010
lol, gourmand lingo! ;)
 
July 30, 2010
ohhh I got check this stuff out~
August 01, 2010
Yes, you should! :)
 
July 29, 2010
Mmmmmm, I've been living off of Mexican food lately and this looks delicious. I like things that are very spicy.
August 01, 2010
Oooh, do you have good Mexican food where you are? I can't handle my things too spicy...
August 01, 2010
Being a vegetarian and a naturally picky eater, I wouldn't know. There used to be a Mexican restaurant about twenty minutes away, but I never had the opportunity to eat there. I usually cook what I eat and eat what I cook. Really, the only place that I sometimes eat out is a small Chinese restaurant down town. And I live for spicy foods. The worse the heartburn it gives me, the happier I am. : )
August 01, 2010
As you know, I'm unusual. ;oD
 
July 29, 2010
This sounds awesome. I love spicy foods, mexican food and pirates. Where can you find it?
August 01, 2010
I love all of those things, too! I believe it's available in restaurants and stores in Southern California, but since I'm not there, I bought it on capitansalsa.com :)
 
July 26, 2010
Sounds like some good stuff
July 27, 2010
It is! :)
 
July 24, 2010
I love garlic...garlic is a main ingredient in Filipino cooking! Thanks, Lady D.
July 26, 2010
Garlic's the main ingredient in my cooking, too! :D
July 27, 2010
I love garlic too! I often get yelled at for putting too much garlic on my pizza, pasta, well heck, on practically all my savory foods. ;)
July 27, 2010
you guys had garlic ice cream?
July 28, 2010
I am making a list of something good...
 
1 2 Next
What's your opinion on El Capitan's Garlic Salsa?
rate
1 rating: +5.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
El Capitan's Garlic Salsa
Related Topics

A type of condiment.

A brand of hot sauce made from tabasco peppers.

Cholula Hot Sauce is the The Flavorful Fire that's perfect f

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists