|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Wiki

The Grilled Cheese sandwich is a type of food where cheese is placed between two slices of bread that is fried, toasted, or broiled.

The practice of creating a hot cheese sandwich (where the bread is toasted and the inside cheese is heated to a point of melting) began in the 1920s as sliced breads and processed cheeses became more widely available. The original versions, however, contained one slice of bread, topped with cheese. The practice of adding a top, toasted slice of bread became popular in the 1960s. A cold version, without toasting and melted cheese, is simply called a cheese sandwich.

Today, the grilled cheese sandwich is a very popular food in the US with a grilled cheese convention held annually in Los Angeles in its honor. 
edit this info
What's your opinion on Grilled Cheese Sandwiches?
rate
1007 Ratings: +3.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
More Grilled Cheese Sandwiches reviews
Quick Tip by . August 19, 2013
The day I learned how to make these on my own was a life changer. Grilled cheese sandwiches and Kraft Dinner got me through the rough patches in life.
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2012
Nothing like a good sandwich at any time! Panera? Arbys? T.J.F? Named!!
Quick Tip by . September 29, 2011
One childhood favorite I never outgrew. I know lots of adults who feel the same way. Quick, cheap, simple and delicious!
Quick Tip by . June 03, 2011
posted in Gourmand
Basically two pieces of toast with melted cheese between them. Even better with chicken and tomatoes! How can something so simple be so good?
Quick Tip by . March 16, 2011
it looks good,. make me thought about bree wan de camp in the movie , the perfect housewife who is really good at cooking.Sounds interesting, I'll try to cook it myselfy to
Quick Tip by . March 18, 2011
I just don't like them. They're full of high-calorie, low-nutrient food, and I am lactose intolerant, so there you go.
Quick Tip by . October 05, 2010
Marble coby = best for grilled cheese! Ever! I've tried all the cheddar and I must say, it is indeed the best cheese for the job. It melts well, and has a wonderful taste only it could bring!
Quick Tip by . October 26, 2010
Buttering the bread is a must. I like using Alvarado St bread with a combo of jalapeno jack and cheddar. MMMMMMM
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2010
Love, love love, grilled cheese sandwiches with ham and onions; lightly browned around the edges...
Quick Tip by . October 07, 2010
The use of multiple cheeses and good bread are the keys.
Photos
Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
Related Topics

A sandwich made from thinly sliced pieces of steak and melte

A meatless sandwich filled with grilled veggies and cheese.

Tuna salad is a blend of typically three main ingredients: t

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists