|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Heart Thrive Oatcake

Heart Thrive Oatcake

4 Ratings: 5.0
Vegan Oat Based Energy Bar

Manufactured by the Healthy Baking Company (800) 830-0309    Vegan Non-GMO energy bar made with Oats, Soy and dried fruits. Available in Apricot, Poppyseed, Cranberry, Chocolate Chip, Date, Raisin and Apple varieties.     INGREDIE … see full wiki

1 review about Heart Thrive Oatcake

Delicious Snack or Breakfast Staple. Can't go wrong with an Oatcake

  • Jan 20, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
I believe that one reason people have trouble maintaining a healthy lifestyle is that it takes more work than the alternative. It takes time and energy to exercise and likewise it takes time, energy and forethought to eat healthy.  If you stay away from processed, refined and packaged foods, it will generally take more time to find or prepare things to eat. This is the reason that I think this product represents such an important contribution to the packaged food industry and why I am such a proponent of them.

Oats have been demonstrated to lower cholesterol and they are packed with soluble fiber, however they are rarely found in a ready to eat form that does not come loaded with sugar and/or oil (granola bars). The Heart Thrive oatcakes are a convenient and great tasting solution to this problem. They are Vegan, High in Protein and Fiber and are low in fat and have no cholesterol. I buy them in bulk and keep them in my freezer. If I do not have time to make breakfast I will grab a package on the way out the door. I often eat them as a snack and/or prior to exercising.

They taste great although some people think they can be a bit dry. I have never had this complaint though. There are several flavors and I prefer the Cranberry, Apple and Apricot varieties. I have given them to several friends and a couple have become regular purchasers. They are sold directly via the company's website www.suncakes.com and are also sold at Whole Foods and many gyms. At my gym they cost $2.25 per package of two, but if you order them through the website, the per package cost is $1.66 (plus shipping).

I believe that while the healthful aspect of their nature is important, their real significance is that they can help make eating healthy more convenient for people. There are plenty of foods that are healthy, but the list of healthy options that come in a package and require zero preparation is pretty small. The fact that they taste great is a bonus.
Photo of product

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
52
Thought-Provoking
20
Fun to Read
17
Well-Organized
20
Post a Comment
September 21, 2011
Raw unprocessed oats are a good health food choice. I sprinkle cinnamon and anise on the preparation to provide a sugary taste without the sugar of course. Stevia is another possible additive because it is a naturally based substance. Processed foods tend to increase inflammation markers in the blood as well as blood pressure itself.
 
August 13, 2010
I second the price comments-- Whole Foods is so costly. $2.50-3 a pack in such a store, I'm guessing? That's too much compared to many more bowls of oatmeal at that price. Still, for a packaged food I suppose they beat Mother's Oatmeal Cookies! I will try one if I get near a health-food place. Cranberry sounds like a great flavor combination.
 
October 01, 2009
I LOVE THESE. I went to San Francisco about 2.5 years ago and tried these for the first time. I bought 5 packages to take home on the plane. I'm so happy I moved to CA and can get them any time (they are SO hard to find on the east coast. literally I've only ever seen them in one store in NYC). I think my favorite is the raisin flavor. I agree sometimes they can be dry, but overall, oatcakes are delicious treats and reading the ingredient list only reassures me that I'm having a super healthy snack.
October 01, 2009
Cool...yeah, they are rally healthy and delicious...unlike any other packaged foods product that I have found. You can buy them direct from the baker and they are really affordable. I actually had one this morning...I would have had the second one in the package, but my son grabbed it.
 
June 27, 2009
Great review of an item I had never heard of. Let's face it, the diet most of us consume leaves a lot to be desired. I just might take you up on this suggestion. Sounds great!
June 29, 2009
Thanks Drifter...I am actually eating one now.
June 29, 2009
Meanwhile, I just finished an ice cream sandwich. Thanks for the reminder!
 
March 26, 2009
cool. I do love oats--big fan of the all-grain foods; love special K and Oat meal. However, I still do treat myself every weekend with unhealthy foods LOL! I wish I can keep a very healthy lifestyle--I did for awhile but I have got to get back to working out 5 times a week.
 
January 21, 2009
Sweet. Count me in - I'll look for em next time I brave the hoards of dirty hippies at the local Whole Foods. And if I've learned one thing in my years of trying to eat fast/healthy (starting with Power Bars in the early 1990s), it's this: these are not candy, and the more they try to be candy or taste like candy, the more they fail. Or, in the case of Tiger's Milk and even some Balance bars, they basically become candy. High in fat, not so healthy anymore. Anyway, I'm a-gonna find me some fruity oatcakes. Thanks for the tip...
 
January 20, 2009
Eek! Keep me away from granola bars!
 
January 20, 2009
Cranberry is definitely my favorite and apple is a close second. Chocolate is my least favorite. I think it lacks the sweetness of the fruit varieties. I will have to check on the price at Whole Foods. My recollection is that they are close to $3 but I could be wrong.
 
January 20, 2009
great review! i love your agenda pushing a healthy lifestyle as well. However, this review left me wondering a couple things... first off... which flavor is the best... or at least your favorite? any why? also, how much to they cost at Whole Foods? My favorite flavor so far is the apple... it's the sweetest to me, but i haven't tried the date flavor yet.
 
1
What's your opinion on Heart Thrive Oatcake?
rate
4 Ratings: +5.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Picture of packaged product
Related Topics
Photo of packaging

Whole grain snack bar from PowerBar

Fuji Apple

Fuji Apple

A species of goosefoot grown as a crop primarily for its edi

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists