|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Kashi Mayan Harvest Bake

Kashi Mayan Harvest Bake

2 Ratings: 5.0
A frozen entree by Kashi.
1 review about Kashi Mayan Harvest Bake

What's For Dinner?

  • Oct 9, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
I'm not even remotely close to what you might call a health nut although I might occasionally splurge on trips to Whole Foods or local health supermercado.  Funny that I should find myself so utterly addicted to Kashi's Mayan Harvest Bake these days. In between snarfing down a plate of seven layer nachos, I have found something which may be healthier but still satisfies my cravings.

I'll be perfect honest & say that I haven't liked every frozen entree or dish that Kashi produces so I was initially reluctant to purchase the Mayan Health Bake. After some procrastination, I decided to proceed with purcashing one box the other evening expecting a very bland & uninteresting dish which would probably need to be doctored up quite a bit. You can just imagine how pleasantly surprised I was after retrieving my dish from the faithful microwave. I couldn't wait to taste the aromatic dish & had trouble watching the DVD film as the food had my undivided attention.

The  Kashi Mayan Harvest Bake consists of  yummy plantains with roasted sweet potato, black beans and kale. In addition to these enticing goodies, the dish is served with a spicy ancho sauce with pumpkin seed garnish served over Kashi seven whole grain polenta plus amaranth. Admittedly, all of those flavors are taste bud teasers for sure but I couldn't have ever imagined how good this combination would truly be until I took the first bite. Needless to say, I managed to wolf it down in a matter of just minutes although I would normally savor such perfectly seasoned food. In fact,  I was quite tempted to get up out of bed & run back to the 24-hour Wal-Mart just to purchase a few more boxes of this wholesome goodness.

That's saying quite a bit as I HATE Wal-Mart although the convenience of an all-nite supermercado is always a plus. 

I can't really say that I was still hungry after the meal but I found it increasingly difficult to think of anything else afterwards. I almost felt a tad bit guilty to admit that food was all of a sudden some therapeutic device that I couldn't imagine living without. After having been exposed to this warm & inviting treat, my mind wandered for most of the evening & I found myself imagining a new world of exquisite beauty. I envisioned myself totally submerged into the art & culture of Maya if only for that one night. Sadly, the dream comes to a screeching halt when you realize that it's way past your bedtime & you have to remove yourself from such far-fetched wonder. 

Personally, I am as far removed from Vegan as Heaven is wide but I will make this a regular staple in my freezer from now on. Bon Appetit.   

 
What's For Dinner? What's For Dinner?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
24
Thought-Provoking
20
Fun to Read
23
Well-Organized
21
Post a Comment
October 06, 2011
"The Kashi Mayan Harvest Bake consists of yummy plantains with roasted sweet potato, black beans and kale. In addition to these enticing goodies, the dish is served with a spicy ancho sauce with pumpkin seed garnish served over Kashi seven whole grain polenta plus amaranth. "

I'm almost a vegan and this dish sounds great.
October 06, 2011
It's delightful. Perhaps my favorite thing in the frozen food section next to something indulgent like Ben & Jerry's. Highly recommended. Thanks reading & I hope you enjoy it! Cheers!!
October 06, 2011
Agreed. Also, I like the Ben and Jerry's ice cream, as well as their corporate policy of taking modest salaries at the CEO level and sharing the profits more with the workers. If every company operated in this fashion, we would not have the crowds of angry protesters on Wall Street.
 
March 07, 2010
I'm a vegan, so I'm surprised that I've never tried this before, but you've made it sound enticing. Kashi also makes good pasta dishes and a yummy Tuscan veggie bake similar ot lasagna. Thanks for the review!
October 06, 2011
Sorry, I don't know how I missed your comment but thank you! I have also tried the Kashi Tuscan veggie bake which is quite good. I have a feeling you would really love this dish if you haven't tried it already. It's easily my favorite thing in the frozen food section of the supermercado. Thank you again for reading! Cheers!!!.
 
October 10, 2009
I am currently reading your review while I am eating curry fried rice and imperial rolls...(yum) nice one. Guess what review I dropped?
October 10, 2009
Ooh, lucky Woo. I guess we're off the white rice diet, huh? ; )
October 10, 2009
Being Asian, freshly cooked rice is my weakness! :)
October 10, 2009
Hmm, I am so dropping by your crib if I'm ever in the area for a bowl of food. LOL
October 10, 2009
Ditto!
October 10, 2009
I'm about to make some Bulgogi (korean dish) come on over! (you guys may never leave)LOL
October 10, 2009
Oh, wow! Yeah, I just might have to take you up on that. You're prolly right. I will find myself camping out at your place & not wanting to leave anytime soon. LOL
 
October 09, 2009
This sounds great, I can't wait to try it. I just moved into a new apartment, no cooking supplies. I think I've found a solution.
October 09, 2009
It's one of the greatest creations I've come across in many a moon. Being a single man, this was truly a godsend. It's affordable, delicious, & there are dishes to clean afterwards. I hope you enjoy this.
 
October 09, 2009
Haha, I'm no health nut either!  I can pretend to be, though :P  The only things that I like from Kashi are their bars and their cereal.  I've also had their pizza, oatmeal and a shrimp and cous cous frozen entree, and none of them were good...  I do like the sound of all those ingredients though, and if it's @cenobite7-approved, I think I might just have to try it! :)
October 09, 2009
I know, right? Try as I might, I'm not fooling anyone really. I was pleasantly surprised & this really exceeded my expectations. I didn't know how this combination of tasty ingredients would work but it's divine. Who would've thunk? I give it my highest recommendation as far as frozen dinners go. You don't have to make reservations & it's affordable. Let me know if you should try it as I'd be interested to see your take on it. I'm willing to bet you will love this. ;-)
October 14, 2009
Will do! I actually tried finding this at Target yesterday, but they seemed to have everything but this one for some reason. Its gotta be available here somewhere!
October 14, 2009
I became rather adventurous & decided to give Kashi another try after eating Mayan Harvest Bake for the past four days & tried their Curry Chicken which was not bad. It was flavorful but could've used a touch of salt perhaps. I purchase my dinners from the Wal-Mart Super Center. Even though I hate shopping there, it's the closest store to where I reside & they always have this in stock.
 
October 09, 2009
Sounds yummy, but what are the ingredients?
October 09, 2009
The Kashi Mayan Harvest Bake consists of yummy plantains with roasted sweet potato, black beans and kale. In addition to these enticing goodies, the dish is served with a spicy ancho sauce with pumpkin seed garnish served over Kashi seven whole grain polenta plus amaranth.
October 10, 2009
Darn, I'm allergic to all nuts, peas, beans, and legumes... so alas, I cannot partake in the yummy. You know being a vegetarian and having so many allergies makes life difficult. LOL!
October 10, 2009
That really sucks dude! I hate it for you. I'm not a vegetarian per se & make no qualms about being an omnivore but I know how it is to be allergic to certain foods. I'm lactose intolerant & diabetic so it makes it difficult to eat the good stuff sometimes.
October 10, 2009
I wouldn't live if I couldn't have cheese. Other than soy and various grains, all my protein comes from cheese (usually on nachos, vegetarian pizza, or with crackers).
October 10, 2009
I can eat some cheese or milk products but I have to take a lactaid pill before consuming great quantities. I love cheese & I can't imagine life witthout it. ;-)
 
October 09, 2009
This sounds RIGHT up my alley! I'm curious though...how much was this tasty treat? I know Kashi stuff (esp frozen meals) can be quite expensive!
October 09, 2009
Their cereals are for sure, but they're so good I'm willing to toss out the extra dinero.
October 09, 2009
Hi Melissa! Surprisingly, this was pretty reasonable. I only paid $2.75 for it at the local Wal-Mart. Kashi is usually rather expensive but this was certainly doable & it didn't break my wallet. Thank goodness! I would love to get your take it on it sometime.
 
1
What's your opinion on Kashi Mayan Harvest Bake?
rate
2 Ratings: +5.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Kashi Mayan Harvest Bake
Related Topics
Picture of packaged product

Vegan Oat Based Energy Bar

Clif Builder's Bar, Protein Bar, 2.4-Ounce Bars

Protein Bar

Muscle Milk Light

A high protein supplemental shake.

Fuji Apple

Fuji Apple

First to Review

"What's For Dinner?"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists